• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Ice Cream (Philadelphia Style)

DSC_1164

I am a huge fan of chocolate ice cream and after making my first chocolate ice cream using the French-style or custard method, I wanted to try this Philadelphia style ice cream to see how the two recipes compared.  To be honest, I can’t say that one is better than the other.  The French-style ice cream is a little creamier, but I think this one has a more intense chocolate flavor.  The main advantage to the Philadelphia style ice cream is that it is easier and less time-consuming to make, and you don’t have to mess with using egg yolks.  This was a great recipe to make on a night when I badly wanted to make ice cream but was pressed for time.  I let it chill overnight, and the next day I made some chocolate truffles to add in it.  The truffles were amazing and definitely intensified the chocolate flavor.  My only complaint is that they sank to the bottom of the ice cream mixture, so they weren’t mixed in as well.  I think this problem could be solved by freezing the truffles longer, so they are firmer.  It didn’t seem to affect the ice cream all that much, though, and it was still delicious.  I will definitely make this again, and will try some different mix-ins, because there are so many good ones I want to try!

Chocolate Ice Cream (Philadelphia Style)

2 ¼ cups heavy cream

6 tablespoons unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder

1 cup sugar

Pinch of salt

6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped

1 cup whole milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Whisk together the cream, cocoa powder, sugar, and salt in a large saucepan.  Heat the mixture, whisking frequently, until it comes to a full, rolling boil (it will start to foam up).  Remove from the heat and whisk un the chocolate until it’s completely melted, then whisk in the milk and vanilla.  Pour the mixture into a blender and blend for 30 seconds, until very smooth.

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Dark Chocolate Truffles

½ cup plus 1 tablespoon heavy cream

3 tablespoons light corn syrup

6 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped

1 teaspoon Cognac, rum or other liquor or liqueur

Heat the cream with the corn syrup in a small saucepan until it just begins to boil.  Remove from the heat and add the chocolate, stirring until it’s melted and the mixture is smooth.  Mix in the Cognac.  Scrape the mixture into a small bowl and freeze until firm, about 1 hour.

Line a dinner plate with plastic wrap.  Form little ½-inch truffles using two small spoons.  Scoop up a teaspoonful of truffle mixture, then scrape it off with the other spoon onto the dinner plate.  Repeat, using all the truffle mix.  Freeze the truffles until ready to mix in.

Makes 40 (1/2-inch) truffles

Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

17 Responses

  1. It looks so good, I can’t wait to get my ice cream maker to start making ice. I really appreciate your comparisons of the 2.

  2. Hello… that looks awesome! I need to get my freezer bowl in the freezer and start my ice cream making soon!

  3. Mmm chocolate ice cream. I didn’t know there were two different methods to make ice cream (I’ve never made it before).

  4. Looks absolutely rich and fabulous!

  5. Yum! I really need to get an ice cream maker!

  6. Your chocolate ice cream is mouth-watering! Thanks for sharing. I urgently need to get an ice cream maker! Also, check out Dove Chocolate Discoveries’ website for some of the chocolate products you use.

  7. Living in the Philly area, I never knew there was a “Philadelphia” style ice cream. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on both styles, and I love the idea of mixing in TRUFFLES!! I’m really enjoying your ice cream posts. Thank you.

  8. That looks really good and simple. The whole egg yolk, scalding the eggs stuff makes me nervous. So I like that this is low-maintenance!

  9. woo-hoo! you and I are definitely on the same wave-length these days – ice cream on the brain, that’s for sure!

  10. another reason why I need an ice cream maker.

  11. Wow, that looks so rich and flavorful!

  12. Mmm, this ice cream looks super yummy! Even though it’s not as creamy as the French-style, I love how quickly it comes together. And I love the truffle addition. Sorry I’ve been away from blogging/commenting for so long. I just finished up with my exams and am finally getting around to my google reader 🙂 Everything looks delicious!

  13. I’m currently making a double batch of your recipe for the first time and I’m not quite clear why it requires the blender step as the Chocolate chips (and everything else) seem to melt together perfectly. I think I’ll try one batch blended and one unblended and see if there’s a difference….I’ll report back later. And thanks for the recipe.

    • If I remember correctly, I think I might have skipped the blender. It doesn’t seem like it would really make a difference!

      • Both batches were excellent, but the first one was very creamy, almost like a chocolate mousse. I wasn’t very careful with the second batch as I let it sit in the pan for awhile and then in the frig overnight before I spun it, so it had a little texture to it. I’ll be making another batch soon (because it was so good!) and I bet I’ll skip the blender but I’ll probably stir it a bit better and get it into a bowl while it’s still hot. Thanks again.

  14. It’s nice that you took the time to write all this up; it’s great to see another’s opinion. I respect your work on this post, and I’ll come back for more info.

  15. […] Recipe adapted from dinner and dessert […]

Leave a comment