• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins

DSC_1138

We had some good friends stay over not too long ago, and I wanted to make some muffins for breakfast in the morning.  I had some very ripe bananas on hand, so I thought some type of banana muffin would be perfect.  I looked through some of my cookbooks on Saturday afternoon to find a recipe where I had all the ingredients on hand.  When I asked them how Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins sounded, I got a very enthusiastic response, so I knew these were the ones to make!

These muffins were incredibly easy to make.  I used Hershey’s Special Dark Chips and everyone agreed that they added tons of flavor, so I would recommend using these if you have them.  There was not much coffee, and I worried that they flavor wouldn’t be as strong, but it was just the right amount- subtle and noticeable, but not too strong.  I’m glad I didn’t increase the amount.  Even though the recipe said it yielded 12 muffins, I got 15 out of it.  Only 7 actually made it to Sunday morning!  Even David, who I didn’t think would even like these, polished off several muffins and has even requested that I make them again.

DSC_1131

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins
Source: Baked: New Frontiers in Baking by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito

1 ½ cups mashed, very ripe bananas (about 4 medium bananas)

½ cup sugar

¼ cup firmly packed light brown sugar

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

¼ cup whole milk

1 large egg

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon instant espresso powder

1 ½ teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup (6 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 12-cup muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, stir together the bananas, sugars, butter, milk, and egg.

In another medium bowl, whisk together the flour, instant espresso powder, baking soda, and salt.  Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients.  Pour the wet ingredients into the well and stir until just combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips.

Fill each cup about three-quarters full.  Bake in the center of the oven for 20 to 25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted of a muffin comes out clean.

Move the muffin pan to a cooling rack, and let cool for 15 minutes.  After 15 minutes, remove the muffins from the pan and let them finish cooling on the cooling rack.

Muffins can be stored in an airtight container for up to 2 days.

14 Responses

  1. Mmm I love the sound of banana espresso chocolate chip muffins! Lucky friends.

  2. I made these a few months ago and absolutely loved them! Thanks for the reminder that I should make them again🙂 Yours look fantastic!

  3. Just more proof of how wonderful Baked is!! These muffins look fabluous. I can’t wait to try them out. The idea of having a bit of caffeine in them is awesome. And they look delicious, too!

  4. I knew this recipe sounded familiar. I checked this book out of the library a while back and eyed this recipe.

  5. OH, I hit submit too soon, I meant to add… These look great, and it’s good to know how yummy yall found them! Where did you find the instant espresso powder? I’ve looked, but haven’t found it. What’s the brand name?

  6. This is one of the recipes I drool over in Baked! They look delicious!

  7. I’ve seen lots of these muffins in the blog world lately. Lookin yummy! I love that book, so I might have to try this recipe! ;D

  8. Erin- I actually just used instant coffee instead and it worked out fine!🙂

  9. I love these! Chocolate , expresso and bananas, what a combination!

  10. Ooh – I like that combo of banana, espresso and chocolate chips! Yum!

  11. Popped in to say hi! These look great!

  12. What lucky visitors! They look very flavorful – I love Hershey Dark chips too!

  13. […] Recipe adapted from Dinner & Dessert 1 ½ cups mashed, very ripe bananas (about 4 medium bananas) ½ cup sugar ¼ cup firmly packed […]

  14. I made these muffins last Friday because I was going away for the weekend and had a couple of bananas that were going to be over-ripe by the time I got home. I brought them to our weekend host. The muffins were fabulous! I didn’t have quite enough mashed banana, so I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for the 1/2 cup of the banana. I used Ghiradelli 60% chocolate chips (my favorite). I also used regular instant coffee instead of the espresso. I made 6 Texas-size muffins from the batter. OMG! They were deadly! Went to dinner with friends on Saturday, came home & had these for dessert. Had them again for breakfast on Sunday morning, and they were still as moist & delicious as the day I baked them! I do love the Baked cookbook, and have yet to find a less-than-wonderful recipe.

Leave a Reply

