• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Ice Cream

dsc_0686

This ice cream has been high on my list of ice cream to make from The Perfect Scoop. I love chocolate ice cream, and I couldn’t wait to try this French-Style version.  I also had some flourless chocolate cake left from the February Daring Bakers Challenge, and I wanted to use it as a mix-in to this ice cream.  This ice cream sure did deliver!  It was the creamiest, most perfectly chocoalty ice cream I have ever had.  The mixture was even amazing before I froze it in my ice cream maker!

It didn’t take long at all for custard mixture to get cold enough to freeze.  After stirring it in the ice bath, I put it in the refrigerator, and it was ready to freeze in about two hours.  I was so hooked on this ice cream after I tasted it.  It would be fine on its own, but this is great for mix-ins.  David Leovitz suggests making Chocolate-Mint Ice Cream by adding mint oil or extract and homemade Peppermint Patties to the mixtres as well as Rocky Road Ice Cream, which is made by adding marshmallows and peanuts to the ice cream.  I defitinitely want to try both of those variations.  David Lebovitz calls this the ultimate chocolate ice cream and I have to agree with him 100 percent!

Chocolate Ice Cream
from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

2 cups heavy cream

3 tablespoons unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder

5 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped

1 cup whole milk

¾ cup sugar

Pinch of salt

5 large egg yolks

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

Warm 1 cup of the cream with the cocoa powder in a medium saucepan, whisking to thoroughly blend the cocoa.  Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer at a very low boil for 30 seconds, whisking constantly.  Remove from the heat and add the chopped chocolate, stirring until smooth.  Then stir in the remaining 1 cup cream.  Pour the mixture into a large bowl, scraping the saucepan as thoroughly as possible, and set a mesh strainer on top of the bowl.

Warm the milk, sugar, and salt in the same saucepan.  In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm milk unto the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula.  Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the chocolate mixture until smooth, then stir in the vanilla.  Stir until cool over an ice bath.

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions  (If the cold mixture is too thick to pour into your machine, whisk it vigorously to thin out).

Makes about 1 quart


20 Responses

  1. This looks really chocolaty which is perfect for me! Delicious!

  2. Can’t go wrong with a quintessential ice cream flavor!!

  3. Happiness – in a bowl!

  4. Oh my gah! This ice cream looks so divine. I used to not like chocolate ice cream (what was I thinking), but now, I love it! And, I can’t wait to try out this recipe. It looks so silky and chocolatey, and I bet adding that leftover flourless chocolate cake made it just over the top good!

  5. Thanks for sharing this delicious sounding recipe. I love the idea of adding the flourless chocolate cake and will definitely be adding this to my collection. Thanks for the inspiration to get my ice cream maker out!

  6. Looks fantastic!

  7. I love that recipe! Yours looks fantastic!! I am a chocolate lover for sure!

  8. That ice cream looks wonderful! So chocolaty! I’ve really enjoyed the recipes I’ve made from The Perfect Scoop.

  9. Can’t wait to try this! I plan to try every chocolate ice cream in that book, maybe this one will be next on my list.

  10. Oh, yum. I’ll have to keep this one in mind the next time I make chocolate ice cream. Right now my favorite is Dorie’s chocolate ganache ice cream.

  11. Mmmmm I bet this would be so good with pieces of chopped up frozen banana mixed in! I gotta get this book!

  12. Mmmmm I bet this would be so good with pieces of chopped up frozen banana mixed in! I gotta get this book!

  13. I love chocolate ice cream! I’m bookmarking this and making it! Thanks!

  14. add some ancho chili powder to the cream and chocolate mixture before bringing to a boil for a slightly spicy chocolate ice cream! YUM

    I add 3 tbs of ancho chili powder to mine

  15. Made it! Added frozen bananas!😀😀

  16. i am so making this!

  17. I read your posts for quite a long time and should tell you that your posts always prove to be of a high value and quality for readers.

  18. […] am a huge fan of chocolate ice cream and after making my first chocolate ice cream using the French-style or custard method, I wanted to try this Philadelphia style ice cream to see […]

  19. I just made this, and the custard is sitting in the refrigerator right now. So far, it tastes so good. Thanks for posting this recipe!

  20. Great Stuff, do you currently have a youtube account?

Leave a Reply

