• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Vanilla Ice Cream

DSC_0910

I have always been a chocolate person and I rarely eat vanilla.  I’ve heard good things about David Lebovitz’s vanilla ice cream, though, and wanted to try it.  My father-in-law is an ice cream fanatic, although he tends to stick to plain vanilla ice cream.  My in-laws visited us recently, and I thought it was the perfect occasion to try this ice cream.  Even though I don’t usually eat vanilla ice cream, I thoroughly enjoyed this version.  Unlike store brand vanilla ice creams, it was rich, creamy, and full of vanilla flavor.  My father-in-law really loved it, and ate all but a few tiny spoonfuls, which were shared among the rest of us.  He didn’t get that you usually take a “little bit goes a long way” with premium ice cream such as this, but I was glad that it was such a success.  True to my tastes, I made the Classic Hot Fudge to go with it.  Even though I didn’t get a picture of the ice cream with the hot fudge on it, I can assure you that it was delicious.  It will be my standard hot fudge recipe!  And it was tons better than the Hershey’s Syrup that my father-in-law usually puts on his ice cream :)  Even though I am not a vanilla ice cream, I enjoyed this and will make it again.  With hot fudge of course🙂

Vanilla Ice Cream (French-Style)

1 cup whole milk

¾ cup sugar

2 cups heavy cream

Pinch of salt

1 vanilla bean, split in half lengthwise (or 1 tablespoon vanilla)

6 large egg yolks

¾ teaspoon vanilla extract

Warm the milk, sugar, 1 cup of the cream, and salt in a medium saucepan.  Scrape the seeds from the vanilla bean into the warm milk and add the bean as well.  Cover, remove from the heat, and let steep at room temperature for 30 minutes.

Pour the remaining 1 cup cream into a large bowl and set a mesh strainer on top.  In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as your stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula.  Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream.  Put the vanilla bean into the custard, add the vanilla extract, and stir until cool over an ice bath.

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator.  When ready to churn, remove the vanilla bean, rinsing and reserving it for another use, and then freeze the mixture in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Classic Hot Fudge

¾ cup heavy cream

¼ cup packed dark brown sugar

¼ cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder

½ cup light corn syrup

6 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped

1 tablespoon unsalted butter

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix the cream, brown sugar, cocoa powder, and corn syrup in a large saucepan.  Bring to a boil and cook, stirring frequently, for 30 seconds.

Remove from the heat and add the chocolate and butter, stirring until melted and smooth.  Stir in the vanilla.  Serve warm.

Storage: This sauce can be stored in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.  Rewarm it gently in a microwave or by stirring in a saucepan over very low heat.

Makes 2 cups

Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

8 Responses

  1. Mmm sounds awesome. I love regular vanilla ice cream.

  2. I’m not usually not a vanilla ice cream person, either – but with the homemade hot fudge – yum! Thanks for sharing!

  3. There’s nothing quite like vanilla ice cream with hot fudge. YUM!!

  4. I just sent away for an ice cream maker and can’t wait till it gets here!! I love vanilla ice cream and am bookmarking this one!!

  5. Ha ha – I just posted David’s chocolate ice cream this morning! It’s getting to be that time of year!

  6. I agree – it’s my favorite vanilla now, hands-down!

  7. I’m so impressed you made your own hot fudge, sounds so perfect with your lovely vanilla ice cream!

  8. […] had some doubts about this ice cream, since I’ve already found a great ice cream that I love.  The recipes are very similar, but David Lebovitz’s calls for a higher ratio of heavy […]

Leave a Reply

