• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Creamiest Lime Meringue Pie (TWD)

DSC_2115

*Sorry about the dark pictures*

Forget the apples!  It’s still summer!  This lime pie was a great way to hold on to the last bit of summer we have.  School starts for me tomorrow, and the kids are coming in full force next Tuesday.  This was very similar to the lemon tart we made in April 2008 for TWD, but with limes instead of lemons and a different crust.  It was also very similar to the Key Lime Pie I made last summer.  Because I’ve basically made this before (the filling is the same as the lemon tart, obviously replacing lemons with limes), I knew what to expect.  When I made the lemon tart, I had trouble getting the cream up to the desired temperature.  The lime cream was no different.  Dorie’s instructions said that it could take up to 10 minutes to get to the correct temperature.  Well, 25 minutes later, and it still wouldn’t budge past 171 degrees.  Since the cream looked the way Dorie said it was supposed to, I decided to declare it done and move on. When I made the lemon cream last year, I remembered that I thought it was too buttery, so I cut back the butter a little bit.  I am usually not one to complain about too much butter!  I used 2 sticks instead of the 2 1/2 the recipe called for, and I could have gotten away with even less.  It was still very delicious, so I can’t really complain.

DSC_2111

After chilling the cream, I prepared the pie and topped it with the meringue.  Be very careful with the meringue!  I’ve never finished a meringue in the broiler and it browns very quickly.  I would recommend leaving the oven door slightly ajar while you keep an eye on it.  This was my first meringue pie, and a great way to savor the last bit of summer vacation.

Linda chose this pie and has the recipe posted on her blog.  You can go to the TWD blog to see everyone else’s pies.

17 Responses

  1. You’re a pro at making the pies already!! Looks fabulous.

  2. I just love any thing citrus flavored, I really need to try this recipe, it just sounds so good!

  3. You ended up using the same amount of butter that I did.

    Here’s my theory about the temperature of the lime cream base: Use a stainless steel bowl. I used glass last year, and it never came to the right temperature. This year I used metal, and the temperature was at 180F just a few minutes (for 1/4 of the recipe).

    • I am definitely going to try that! I did use a glass bowl, but I’ll definitely try stainless steel next time.

  4. Ooo what a beautiful pie! Looks and sounds delicious!!

  5. Great job on this pie. I was sorry I had to miss this weeks recipe..couldn’t help it though..rain storm came in my house!

  6. My cream took forever, too! I ran out of water TWICE while I was trying to get it to 180. Unbelievable.

    I agree, it was a nice way to give summer its due before we move on to apples and chai tea.😉

  7. I am so glad I read all the comments about cutting back the butter – because I cut mine way back as well and didn’t miss it a bit.

    Good luck with school!

  8. Me likey! Congrats on your first meringue pie! Looks YUMMY!

    And I cannot believe summer went by so fast!

  9. This pie was a nice way to hold on to summer! Loved this one – this was my first meringue as well! Good luck with school!

  10. Thanks for the tips. Yours looks like a winner to me! I will have to make this one day when I am not trying to cut calories. Will that day ever come?

  11. Your pie is beautiful. And the meringue looks fantastic.

  12. I agree with you on the butter. Next time I will use a cup of butter, too.

    The pie looks yummicious!

  13. Congratulaions on your first meringue – you did an awesome job! I’m glad that you enjoyed this recipe – it was a hit in my house.

    Erin, thanks for baking along with me this week!

  14. Great job on the pie!
    For some reason, my cream only took 9-10 minutes to come to temp. I know many complained about it taking longer. Then, I’m glad I only put in one stick of butter as for some reason at that point I nixed the pie idea and added cream and half and half and made lime ice cream! It’s bad enough that there is a stick of butter in our ice cream!

  15. That looks lovely! I still need to make this one. It’s been a very long time since I’ve made a pie with meringue–looks like your first one turned out great.

  16. […] spend the time making the meringue in the original recipe, so I used the same recipe used in this lime pie. Even though this cake was a lot of work, it was worth it for the occasion and everyone really […]

Leave a Reply

