• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Caramel Cocoa Crispy Bars

DSC_2071

I haven’t made Rice Krispy Treats in a while, but was recently searching for a good dessert to make quickly.  I thought it would be fun to try this recipe, since it is a big twist on the original.  When I was little, my mom would occasionally make Cocoa Krispy Treats, and I looked forward to them every time.  I thought they were so much better than regular Rice Krispy Treats.  It’s probably been at least 15 years since I’ve had a chocolate version, and I decided that it was time to try it again.  This version looked perfect.  I love chocolate and caramel together, and the addition of the mini chips made it look even more tempting.  I couldn’t find the caramel and vanilla marshmallows that were originally used, but the plain marshmallows worked fine.  These were wonderful little snacks, and a great twist on the classic!  They were certainly gobbled up quickly.

Caramel Cocoa Crispy Bars
Source: Erin’s Food Files

3 tablespoons butter
1 10oz package Caramel Vanilla Swirl Marshmallows (I used a 10.5-ounce bag of regular marshmallows)
6 cups cocoa crispy rice cereal (I used Cocoa Pebbles)
12 candy caramel squares
approx 1 Tbsp cream, half & half, evaporated milk, or any milk
1/3 cup mini chocolate chips (more or less depending on tastes)

Line a 9x13in pan with plastic wrap and spray with nonstick spray.

Melt caramels in double boiler or microwave, add milk or cream once melted and mix together.

Meanwhile, as caramel is melting, melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat. Once butter has melted add marshmallows, stirring occasionally until melted. Once melted, remove from heat, stir in cereal.

Press into pan, (it really helps to use a spatula sprayed with cooking spray to press it down). Drizzle melted caramel on top, then sprinkle with mini chocolate chips. Let cool, and cut into bars. Enjoy!

13 Responses

  1. Yummy! These look great. Coco Crispies were a favorite cereal of mine, when I was a kid.

  2. I am oh-so shocked that you preferred the chocolately version of Rice Krispie treats, even as a kid. 😉

  3. Hoooly yum caramel!!

  4. Believe it or not, I’ve never had the cocoa krispie version of rice krispie treats! And adding caramel makes them sound even better. Looks delicious!

  5. This looks delicious! I love making small snacks so I have something to eat when I’m craving something sweet!

  6. Oh good grief – that’s just what I need to see right now. It’s a good thing I don’t have any caramels in the house.

  7. OH YUM! I totally need to make these again! Glad you enjoyed!
    PS. the only place I’ve ever seen those marshmallows was Walmart. And I don’t go there often.

  8. These look sooooo friggin good!

    My mom never made me these since she is a first-generation Vietnamese immigrant. I made Rice Kripsies treats for the first time in college and I thought I died and went to heaven.

    I love your modern twist to the original .. I so have to make these now!

  9. Oh yum, those look so delicious! I don’t think I’ve ever had Rice Krispy treats with Cocoa Pebbles but it sounds terrific!

  10. I honestly could probably kill for one of these right now! I am craving something sweet soooo bad…and I click over here and see these delicious looking things!

  11. These bars looks so good! Perfect for my sweet tooth!

  12. I love playing around with rice crispy treats! These look and sound de-lish!

  13. Caramel and chocolate go hand in hand and these treats give the traditional rice krispy ones a nice twist!

Leave a Reply

