• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Thanksgiving Twofer Pie

img_2055

Happy Thanksgiving!  I know it’s a couple days early, but Tuesdays with Dorie is already celebrating with the Thanksgiving Twofer Pie, chosen by Vibi of La casserole carree.  I was instantly intrigued by this dessert because of the unusual combination.  I’m not crazy about traditional pumpkin pie on its own, but I love pecan pie, so I was excited to see how this would turn out.  I brought this to our dinner group for the dessert, and I felt like I was taking a bit of a risk in serving it.  I was afraid that the combination would be to strange for their tastes and that no one would like it.  I was pleased to discover that I got the opposite reaction of what I was expecting!

img_2051

Everyone really loved this dessert.  There was only one piece left- one that they saved for me since I was the one who baked it :)  The pumpkin and pecan flavors were nicely balanced.  I didn’t think that either was too overpowering.  People had just the reaction Dorie intended.  There is often both pumpkin and pecan pie for dessert at Thanksgiving and it’s hard to choose, but now you don’t have to!  You get the best of both worlds with this twist on two classic desserts.

The recipe also came together easily.  I didn’t have any trouble preparing it or baking it.  It baked up nicely in the time Dorie suggested.  Thanks Vibi for choosing this.  I’m so glad I got to try it.  You can visit her blog for the recipe.  Be sure to also visit the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see all the wonderful Twofers out there!  Have a safe and happy Thanksgiving!

img_2044

16 Responses

  1. Lovely, lovely pie, Erin! and deliciously creamy looking too!
    I’m so happy your dinner group enjoyed it… and that they left you a piece! LOL
    Thank you so much for participating with me this Tuesday! …and a very happy Thanksgiving to you too!

  2. That looks ooey gooey good, Erin. Looks like someone got an early start on Thansgiving. So did I . . but I made pumpkin pie instead. Happy Thanskgiving!🙂

  3. Yours turned out great! I am glad you liked it. I did also I had it for breakfast :}

  4. Great job, Erin, it looks delicious! I’m glad everyone enjoyed it at your dinner group. Looks much creamier than mine – I think I may have overbaked mine… oh well! It still tasted yummy!

  5. I’m exactly the opposite of you – I love pumpkin pie, but I’ve never found a pecan pie that I could get excited about. I did like this pie though.

  6. looks delicious! I bought the stuff to make tonight!

  7. It looks perfect, so I’m glad they saved a piece for you🙂

  8. I’m so glad you liked this pie. I thought it was amazing. YUM!

  9. I’m glad to hear it came out so nicely for you… that’s encouraging for those of us who still need to bake this.

    It looks fantastic… nice work!

  10. That sounds amazing!!! My hubby is actually trying to be in charge of the pecan pie this year and so I will definitely show him this recipe!

  11. I’m making this tonight – glad I had your picture to encourage me . . . this looks delicious!!

  12. It looks so perfect – would you pass a slice to me?

  13. glad this turned out well for you, erin! it looks so delicious. happy thanksgiving🙂

  14. glad you enjoyed it, it looks great.

    happy thanksgiving!

  15. […] This week was even easier because I already had one of Dorie’s pie crusts on hand from the last time we made a pie for TWD.  It might come in handy for you to know that pie crusts do last for a while in the freezer, […]

  16. […] like last year’s Thanksgiving Twofer Pie, Dorie has once again proved that you can have the best of both worlds.  Can’t choose […]

Leave a Reply

