• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Lasagna

img_0619.jpg

Lasagna is one of my favorite dinners. It’s such a nice classic dinner and it’s hard not to like it. I hadn’t had it in a while, so the other day I decided to make it. It’s hard to find the perfect recipe for the sauce. After searching tons of lasagna recipes, I came up with my own combination of flavors to create a really tasty sauce. I love how all of the flavors blended together. I let it cook on the stove all afternoon to get the best flavor.  I think this would also be very good with some Italian sausage.  I don’t like ground beef in my lasagna, but I do love sausage! I will definitely stick with this recipe. It’s definitely a keeper!

img_0622.jpg

Lasagna

½ cup chopped onion
1 (15-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
1 (8-ounce) can tomato paste
1 (15-ounce) can tomato sauce
¼ cup water
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons basil
¼ teaspoon ground fennel
½ to 1 teaspoon marjoram
1 teaspoon oregano
1 ½ teaspoons kosher salt
½ teaspoon pepper
2 tablespoons parsley
8 lasagna noodles
12 ounces ricotta cheese
1 egg
¼ teaspoon salt
1 to 1 ½ cups mozzarella cheese
½ cup Parmesan cheese

In a Dutch oven, cook onion until browned and tender. Stir in crushed tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste, and water. Add sugar, basil, fennel, marjoram, oregano, salt, pepper, and parsley. Simmer, covered, for at least one to two hours (the longer the better), stirring occasionally.

Cook lasagna noodles according to package directions. In a small mixing bowl, combine ricotta cheese with the egg and a small amount of oregano and parsley, and the salt. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

To assemble: spread 1 cup of sauce in the bottom of an 8×8-inch pan. Arrange noodles over sauce. Spread half of the ricotta cheese mixture on top of noodles. Top with 1/3 to 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese. Spoon ¾ cup sauce over the mozzarella with ¼ cup Parmesan cheese. Repeat layers, and top with remaining mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Cover with foil and bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes. Remove foil, and bake an additional 15 to 20 minutes. Cool before serving.

2 Responses

  1. It has been some time since I have made lasagna. I have used the same recipe for over 10 years and love it, love it, love it! I need to make it soon. And post it too! Great job, makes me hungry!

  2. i love lasagna🙂 you need to try the recipe in my blog. i get rave reviews every time!

Leave a Reply

