• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Samoas Bars

dsc_0255

It’s hard to believe that it’s time for Girl Scout cookies again!  I used to look forward to it every year when I was a kid.  I was never a Girl Scout, but I sure did love their cookies!  My favorite cookies were always the Samoas and the Tagalongs.  I never got to eat the Samoas very much, because my mom never ordered them.  I really remember eating them when David and I started dating in high school because he loved them too.  When I saw these Samoas Bars, I knew that I had to make them.

They were pretty similar to a Samoas cookie.  It started with a shortbread crust.  I thought the crust was a bit thick, so I would use a little bit less next time.  Next came the coconut layer.  I can’t get enough of toasted coconut, and mixing it with caramel was even better.  After the caramel later set, the next step was to dip the bottoms in chocolate.  I found that it was easier to just layer on the chocolate using a spatula.  I left the bars chocolate side up for them to set.  Next came the chocolate drizzle.  I used a plastic bag and it seemed to pipe nicely.  On the whole, I think these were enjoyed by all.  I think that I might even make the toasted coconut layer to mix in some ice cream.

dsc_0252

Homemade Samoas Bars

Cookie Base:
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

First, make the crust.
Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking pan, or line with parchment paper.
In a large bowl, cream together sugar and butter, until fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla extract. Working at a low speed, gradually beat in flour and salt until mixture is crumbly, like wet sand. The dough does not need to come together. Pour crumbly dough into prepapred pan and press into an even layer.
Bake for 20-25 minutes, until base is set and edges are lightly browned. Cool completely on a wire rack before topping.

Topping
3 cups shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
12 ounces good-quality chewy caramels
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons milk
10 ounces dark or semisweet chocolate (chocolate chips are ok)

Preheat oven to 300.  Spread coconut evenly on a parchment-lined baking sheet (preferably one with sides) and toast 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes, until coconut is golden. Cool on baking sheet, stirring occasionally. Set aside.

Unwrap the caramels and place in a large microwave-safe bowl with milk and salt. Cook on high for 3-4 minutes, stopping to stir a few times to help the caramel melt. When smooth, fold in toasted coconut with a spatula.
Put dollops of the topping all over the shortbread base. Using the spatula, spread topping into an even layer. Let topping set until cooled.
When cooled, cut into 30 bars with a large knife or a pizza cutter (it’s easy to get it through the topping).
Once bars are cut, melt chocolate in a small bowl. Heat on high in the microwave in 45 second intervals, stirring thoroughly to prevent scorching. Dip the base of each bar into the chocolate and place on a clean piece of parchment or wax paper. Transfer all remaining chocolate (or melt a bit of additional chocolate, if necessary) into a piping bag or a ziploc bag with the corner snipped off and drizzle bars with chocolate to finish.
Let chocolate set completely before storing in an airtight container.

Makes 30 bar cookies.

Note: You can simply drizzle chocolate on top of the bars before slicing them up if you’re looking for yet an easier way to finish these off. You won’t need quite as much chocolate as noted above, and you won’t quite get the Samoas look, but the results will still be tasty.

Source: Baking Bites

16 Responses

  1. oh, man! these look fifty million times better than the girl scouts’ samoas, and i LOVE their samoas (so that’s saying something)! like you, i always used to look forward to the tagalongs and samoas during girl scout season (and the dos-i-dos). now, i can have these treats anytime i like! i can’t wait to try these!

  2. Samoas are my favorite too! One year in high school I bought a box, and kept it in my locker. I think I ate one cookie after every period. Luckily we were on the schedule where we only had 4 classes a day, and not 7 or that would of been a lot more cookies!

  3. As I was eating Samoas this weekend, I was thinking I should make up a bar type recipe with the same ingredients. Glad to see I don’t have to make it up. 🙂 These look great! Mmm.

  4. I love samoas and have this recipe starred to try as well. These looks so good and thanks for sharing your tip about the crust for when I do finally get around to making these! 🙂

  5. You have not seriously just posted this!! I better get baking before Lent rolls around because these babies are CALLING my name. Or they may be my downfall! Even looking at them I can feel the pounds, but it’s going to be worth it. FABULOUS RECIPE! By the way, I made your tropical carrot cake for Valentine’s Day and it was out of this world. I’ll be posting soon!!

  6. Oooh, to chop those bars and add them to vanilla ice cream? I think I might have to do that!

  7. This is totally not good to post this recipe, now I am going to be making them all the dang time!

  8. Those look amazing! I love, love those cookies. I’ll be sure to make these soon!

  9. I am loving these bars! What a great sweet treat!

  10. Samoas have always been my favorite girl scout cookie….these bars look absolutely fabulous!

  11. Yum!! They look great!

  12. Oh, man! My favorite GS cookie!

  13. My mom just brought a box of these cookies home for me! I’m bookmarking this recipe! 😛

  14. […] for my Girl Scout cookies to arrive (although I believe March 1 is the drop date). So when I saw this recipe for the homemade bar-style version of Samoas, well, I wiped the drool off my keyboard & got to […]

  15. Thanks so much for the recipe! These were a hit with my guests, too!

  16. Hey darling, nice website! I genuinely treasure this post.. I was curious about this for a while now. This cleared a lot up for me! Do you have a rss feed that I can add?

Leave a comment