• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Devil’s Food White Out Cake

First of all, please excuse the crappy pictures!  I took this picture very quickly before it got eaten in poor light and over six months ago!

I had my eye on this cake from the very beginning. I thought for sure that it would be chosen early on for a Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, but I got impatient and decided to just go ahead and make it, write the post, and save it for when it does get chosen! :)  Thankfully, Stephanie of Confessions of a City Eater chose the recipe we’ve all been waiting for!

My husband’s extended family has a tradition of going to the beach every year. Family members gather at the beach in South Carolina from Texas, Georgia, Virginia, California, North Carolina, Florida, and Delaware. It’s always a lot of fun and I look forward to it every year. This year we had 29 people there! This year, the week fell during my brother-in-law’s 26th birthday. I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to make the cake. I decided to make Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake as well. Everyone loved them and they sure didn’t last long! It was a very moist cake and the marshmallow frosting was incredible. I came together very well and was easy to work with. I’d love to use this frosting on other cakes.  I’ve found that I really love marshmallow frosting.  It is not that difficult to make, and I love how light and fluffy it gets. I’m so glad I decided to go ahead and make it! It definitely satisfied my curiousity about this delicious-looking cake on the cover! Visit the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see other cakes- I know everyone was happy to get to make it!

21 Responses

  1. I loved it too, glad everyone in your clan did as well🙂

  2. Wow! That looks yummy! Crazy you had to wait so long for it to come up! haha…

  3. This was definitely a hard cake to picture but yours came out stunning!! Great job!

  4. Sounds like your husband’s family got quite a treat! Your cake looks great…only wish there was a slice leftover for me!

  5. Great looking cake. Very nice that you got to share. I want to give ALL my baked goods away these days. Im sick of sweets.

  6. So glad you loved the cake and the frosting!!! It is gorgeous!

  7. Ooh, your pictures make me wish I had cake leftover – it looks so yummy!

  8. What a great cake to make for a birthday! Very smart to write the post and save it for later!

  9. This is a perfect cake for a crowd — yours turned out fantastic!

  10. I’m so glad your cake turned out so great- I think I must have done something wrong with the frosting! Yours looks beautiful!

  11. What a perfect occasion for this cake! Wow, your cake looks great. I wish I had made the frosting now. I am gonna have to give it a try soon.

  12. I see no way that this picture could possibly be crappy! I wish I had a piece of this sitting on my desk – it would make the afternoon fly by faster!

  13. Great looking cake! So glad you all enjoyed it!

  14. I have to disagree about the pictures. That first one is wonderful. The detail is great and shows the texture of the cake. I think it looks great! Very yummy!

  15. Cake looks fudgey and delicious. Great job.

  16. Looks SO good! I’m linking to your blog. You’re fantastic!

  17. Yum! This looks great! I’m glad you were able to snap a few photos before everyone ate it! Looks delicious!

  18. Wow, your husband’s family is incredibly lucky to have you around! Two cakes, and both so fabulous. Nice job!

  19. Where is this recipe?? I NEED it.

  20. […] Devil’s Food White Out Cake- the cover cake, and one of my favorite cakes of all time […]

Leave a Reply

