• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Eat to the Beat: Key Lime Pie

The Bishop of the Episcopal Upper Diocese of South Carolina was visiting the other week and he came to our young adults group. I was in charge of making the dessert, and one of the desserts I decided to make was Key Lime Pie. I had never made a Key Lime Pie before and was anxious to try it out. It’s also one of David’s favorite desserts and he had been wanting me to make one for a while. Since it’s summer and has been pretty hot, I thought a light dessert would go over well. So I decided that this was the perfect time to make my first Key Lime Pie. I turned to Cook’s Illustrated for a good recipe.

They did not disappoint! The Key Lime Pie was gone very quickly and everyone really liked it. I really liked the graham cracker crust. Often the recipe for a graham cracker crust is not enough to cover the whole pie dish, but this one made for a nice, thick crust. The filling was very flavorful and had the right amount of sweetness. I would definitely make this again and my husband (who ate 2 pieces) was finally satisfied with a Key Lime Pie. Unfortunately I could not get a picture of the inside of the pie, but I can assure you it was delicious 🙂

In addition to being fit for a Bishop’s dessert, Key Lime Pie also reminds me of being at the beach during the summer. It reminds me of my vacation in Key West many years ago when I ate some really tasty pie. This is also my entry for Eat to the Beat, which is hosted by Elly of Elly Says Opa! Kenny Chesney sings a fun summer song that’s also called “Key Lime Pie” that makes me wish I was out on the beach relaxing in the sun. I think most people would agree that Key Lime Pie is a classic summer dessert!

Key Lime Pie

Lime Filling

4 teaspoons grated lime zest
½ cup lime juice from 3 to 4 limes
4 large egg yolks
1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk

Graham Cracker Crust

11 graham crackers, processed to fine crumbs (1 ¼ cups)
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Whipped Cream Topping

¾ cup heavy cream
¼ cup confectioners’ sugar
½ lime, sliced paper thin and dipped in sugar (optional)

For the Filling: Whisk zest and yolks in medium bowl until tinted light green, about 2 minutes. Beat in milk, then juice; set aside at room temperature to thicken.

For the Crust: Adjust oven rack to center position and heat oven to 325 degrees. Mix crumbs and sugar in medium bowl. Add butter; stir with fork until well blended. Pour mixture into 9-inch pie pan; press crumbs over bottom and up sides of pan to form even crust. Bake until lightly browned and fragrant, about 15 minutes. Transfer pan to wire rack; cool to room temperature, about 20 minutes.

Pour lime filling into crust; bake until center is set, yet wiggly when jiggled, 15 to 17 minutes. Return pie to wire rack; cool to room temperature. Refrigerate until well chilled, at least 3 hours. (Can be covered with lightly oiled or oil-sprayed plastic wrap laid directly on filling and refrigerated up to 1 day.)

For the Whipped Cream: Up to 2 hours before serving, whip cream in medium bowl to very soft peaks. Adding confectioners’ sugar 1 tablespoon at a time, continue whipping to just-stiff peaks. Decoratively pipe whipped cream over filling or spread evenly with rubber spatula. Garnish with optional sugared lime slices and serve.

Source: Cook’s Illustrated March 1997

I am also submitting this to the Fruit Frenzy event at Joelen’s Culinary Adventures. She has a bunch of blogging events going on, so be sure to check out her blog so you can enter!

9 Responses

  1. Key lime pie is one of my favorite desserts ever but I admit I’ve never made it myself! Thanks for participating in the event with a great entry!

  2. Yum I just made my first key lime pie too! I used a Martha Stewart recipe, though it looks practically identical. Unfortunately I got distracted when making it and dumped the whipped cream into the lime juice/lime zest/egg mixture, so had to start all over again. 😦

  3. Yum! Key Lime is also my favorite and yours looks wonderful! You could even submit this to the Fruit Frenzy blogging event I’m hosting (and maybe win the giveaway prize too!) Details are in my blog 🙂

  4. i love key lime pie – i’ve always used martha’s recipe but would be interested to see how this one compares 🙂

  5. Yay, a fellow Episcopalian! Glad to hear the pie went over well with the bishop. (I’m in the Diocese of Tennessee currently)

  6. […] Erin’s entry to this event, I definitely need to give this recipe a try. Erin’s key lime pie goes hand in hand with a Kenny Chesney song of the same title. Like Erin, this makes me wish I […]

  7. Excellent site, keep up the good work

  8. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website,
    how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast
    provided bright clear idea

  9. Your way of explaining the whole thing in this article
    is truly nice, all be able to easily be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

Leave a comment