• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Deluxe Chocolate Marshmallow Bars

img_0514.jpg

I have had my eye on these ever since I saw them in Jaime’s blog, Good Eats ‘n Sweet Treats a couple months ago. I love the chocolate and peanut butter combination, and when you add in marshmallows and a cake-like layer, how could you go wrong? These were so delicious and very easy to put together. I loved all of the chocolate ooey-gooey goodness! I brought them to our church group tonight and everyone liked them. It’s a great go-to dessert when you need to make something for a group of people. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks Jaime for posting such a great recipe!

img_0516.jpg

3/4 cup butter
1-1/2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoons vanilla extract
1-1/3 cups all purpose flour
3 tablespoons baking cocoa
1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped nuts, optional (I omitted these)
4 cups miniature marshmallows

Topping:
1-1/3 cup chocolate chips
1 cup peanut butter
3 tablespoons butter
2 cups crisp rice cereal

In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla; beat until fluffy. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt; add to creamed mixture. Stir in nuts if desired. Spread in a greased 15 x 10 x 1″ pan. (I used a 9×13-inch pan)

Bake at 350F for 15-18 minutes. Sprinkle marshmallows evenly over cake; return to oven for 2-3 minutes. Using a knife dipped in water, spread the melted marshmallows evenly over cake. Cool.

For topping, combine chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter in a small saucepan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until melted and well blended. Remove from heat; stir in cereal. Immediately spread over bars. Chill.

Yield: 3 dozen

10 Responses

  1. holy cow these look decadent! wow. your pictures really show off all of the layers. they look incredible.

  2. Oh my, those just look sinful, and that is in a good way. : )

  3. mmmmm, aren’t they amazing? i have been wanting to make those again ever since i first tried them. glad you enjoyed them and great job w/the pics 🙂

  4. oh wow… these sound incredible!

  5. Wow that looks fabulous!! Love the pictures!!

  6. Yes, please! Those look fab.

    Found you via Blake Makes…I’m thinking a little PBDDL on these would be perfection.

  7. Wow those look so Evil and tasty. All that chocolate and gooey marshmallow I’m so going to have to make these.

  8. Ahhhh omg these look so so delicious!! I must have them.

  9. it’s impossible for me not to comment on marshmallow foods….i seriously have a problem when it comes to marshmallows….there is a cafe at my school that keeps them on the condiment bar (i suppose for hot chocolate and the like) and I “borrow” handfuls all the time….shhh, it’s our secret! your bars look amazing!

  10. […] Chocolate Marshmallow Bars from Good Eats ‘N Sweet Treats by way of Dinner & Dessert Makes 24 bars 3/4 cup butter, room temperature 1 1/2 cups sugar 3 eggs 1 teaspoon vanilla extract […]

Leave a comment