• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Julia Child’s French Bread- My First Daring Bakers Challenge!

img_0496.jpg

After the Lemon Meringue Pies were posted in January, I became intrigued with the Daring Bakers. I had seen bloggers post about it before, but had never really paid attention to what it really was. Since I now have a food blog myself, I decided to look into it. It seemed like it would be a lot of fun and a great way to try new and challenging baking recipes, so I decided to inquire about joining. The Daring Bakers are a group of really great bakers and the administrators do a great job each month keeping the group running.

pink_sil.jpg

I was excited about finding out what my first challenge would be. I was pleased that it was bread because I’ve been wanting to start making bread. There’s nothing quite like homemade bread. I love the way the smell filled the kitchen for the entire day I was making it. And let me tell you, be sure to set aside a good chunk of the day for this bread! I started at about noon and pulled the last loaf out of the oven at 9:30. It was worth it though. This bread has a nice crust on the outside and is nice and chewy on the inside. Mine looked a bit flat, but it was still tasty. I might not have let it rise as much as I should have, or it could have been the weather affecting it. Either way, it was good, and I’m very excited to be joining this group of wonderful and talented bakers!

img_0491.jpg

The entire recipe can be found on The Breadchick’s website. Also be sure to check out the Daring Bakers Blogroll to see how the other Daring Bakers fared with their bread!

I will be away this weekend so I won’t be able to look at everyone’s bread until I get back on Sunday. I will be looking forward to seeing it when I get home! I am also still working on getting my logo and other DB information to look presentable, and that will be taken care of on Sunday as well!

pinklogo1.jpg

23 Responses

  1. First challenge even for you? But you have been more brave than me. I said no for flu limitation, but now looking at all this french bread…

  2. Beautiful Beautiful bread. I love the crust. It’s just right.

  3. Lovely! The crust is right and the inside is soft! Oh Jealous!

  4. Love seeing the bread’s innards. So light and fluffy! Great job!
    -Clara
    http://iheartfood4thought.wordpress.com

  5. Great looking bread! The crust looks terrific! Welcome to the Daring Bakers!

  6. It looks amazing! Welcome to the group

  7. great job! congrats on your first DB challenge! the inside of your loaf looks amazing! oh – and don’t forget that there are some great guys that are part of the DB too!

  8. COngrats on a successful challenge! Nice job!

  9. Great job on your French Bread! Lovely first challenge – you should be very proud!!! Love the close up, it looks good enough to eat off the screen! Welcome to the Daring bakers!

  10. Your crumb looks wonderful!
    Well done on your first challenge!

  11. Welcome to Daring Bakers. You did fantastic on your first challenge.

    Thanks for baking with Sara and I

  12. I love the look of your bread. It’s so craggy you just know that it’s going to have a delicious crust. Yum. Welcome to the DBers.

  13. Congratulations and welcome🙂

  14. Lovely little airpockets!

    Welcome to the Daring Bakers!

  15. The inside of your bread looks fantastic! great job!

  16. Congrats on your first successful challenge! I am sure we will see many more from you!

  17. Your crust is gorgeous! Congrats on your first challenge!

  18. Really nice job for your first challenge especiallly! Welcome to the DBs!

  19. It looks fabulous! Great work and congrats on your first challenge!🙂

  20. Congratulations on a successful first DB challenge. Your loaves look wonderful.

  21. Your bread looks amazing you did a fantastic job on it.
    Great coloring and looks like it has great texture too.
    Fantastic!!!

  22. […] Julia Child’s French Bread for my first Daring Baker challenge peaked my interest in bread making. I had done it before, but […]

  23. How did I miss your post?? Your bread looks absolutely fantastic! The holes, color, everything. You are some bread maker girl! : )

Leave a Reply

