• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

Butterscotch is pretty close to chocolate on my list of favorite dessert flavors.  I’m definitely drawn to desserts with butterscotch, and I think it goes really well in oatmeal, so these cookies jumped out at me.  I also wanted to try using oat flour in the place of regular flour.  I used a food processor to process the oats to the right consistency, then replaced them for the regular flour in the recipe.  This worked out quite well, and gave the cookies a great texture and flavor.  These were delicious cookies- very chewy, and the butterscotch gave them more depth.

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies
Source: Erin’s Food Files (originally Cindy McCain’s recipe published in Good Housekeeping
)

Ingredients:

3/4 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (I used oat flour)
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 tsp salt
3 cups rolled oats
1 1/2 cups butterscotch chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375F. Line a baking pan with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugars. Blend in eggs and vanilla until mixture is smooth.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Stir into butter mixture, then mix in the oats and butterscotch chips.

Drop rounded tablespoonfuls (large balls) of cookie down onto the prepared baking sheets, leaving about 2 inches between each cookie to allow for spread.

Bake for 10-11 minutes, until the edges begin to brown. Let cookies cool on the baking sheet for about 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

24 Responses

  1. I’m looking for a chewy oatmeal cookie recipe- this looks perfect! Last night I tried one out of Joy of Cooking, and the flavor was awesome, but we prefer more chew. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. When I first saw these in my GR I thought “Oh, I’ve made those before, and I love those cookies.” Then I saw you saw them on my blog! LOL. I LOVE your adaption of processing the oats for oat flour. I will most definitely be trying that!

    PS. Your link to my blog does work, just a heads up. 🙂

  3. I made waffles this weekend that required oat flour. I thought I was so slick by processing oats in my food processor into flour. I guess not 😉
    Love these cookies!

  4. Oatmeal and butterscotch are perfect for each other!

  5. Hey, I miss all of your posts! Your blog was one of my favorites – are you planning on posting again soon? *fingers crossed!*

  6. I miss your posts too! I keep checking back hopeful you’re back but I also understand being totally busy.

  7. Greetings from Ireland. It was your name that caught my eye, although these yummy cookies helped too!

  8. These look great! I love butterscotch!

  9. Oh my gosh! I can’t believe I forgot to add that 🙂

    I’ve updated and included the amount of chips.
    Thanks!

  10. Hi Erin,

    I had a question that I’d like to ask you in an email. Would you mind shooting me over a good email addy to send it? (It’s about the possibility of us buying banner space on your site.)

    Thanks!

  11. This sounds like the perfect chewy oatmeal cookie!

  12. If you are looking for some of the most exquisite Italian dessert creations, look no further than San Gelato Café, creators of the most authentic and ready-to-serve Italian foods such as gelato and sorbets among many others.

  13. what a combo!

  14. Healthy and delicious cookies. I will try this one too. Thanks for the recipes. 🙂

  15. I made butterscotch cupcakes just this week! These look amazing, too. It’s also one of my favorite flavors.

  16. i love cookies in the breakfast

  17. butterscotch and oatmeal sound like a great combo! 🙂

  18. I love Oatmeal Scotchies. They are so good! I am happy to see someone else is making them and enjoying them too! I have to go and make me a
    plate of these now….I’ve got the craving… THANKS for the post!

  19. Anything oatmeal… I’m in

  20. Oh nice 🙂

  21. Very nice recipe! its similar to the my recipe, i add about 5 vanilla extract table spoons though! i loveee vanilla

  22. Harika:)

Leave a comment