• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Coconut Tea Cake (TWD)

I was very pleased to see that we could put this one off until Easter.  I love coconut, but David doesn’t, so I don’t make desserts with it all that often for that reason.  Luckily,It my parents were visiting for Easter weekend, and they both love coconut.  I thought this would be a great cake to snack on while they were here.  Since it was still just three of us eating it, I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a loaf pan (it took 45 minutes to bake).  It was pretty simple to make, which was great because I was already going to be cooking so much.  I added way more coconut than the recipe called for, which was a good move because I like a lot :)  My only complaint was that I couldn’t taste the rum.  Overall, this was a fabulous cake, and my parents and I really enjoyed it!  I passed the recipe on to my mom and I’m pretty sure she’ll be making it in the near future!  You can get the recipe on Carmen’s blog, and she chose it for TWD.

9 Responses

  1. Ahhh, it’s a pity when you love a certain ingredient/flavour but the people around you don’t. My family isn’t too keemn on fruitcake or coconutty things, while I am! So I totally know how you feel about the coconut thing.🙂

  2. I agree that the rum was very subtle in this recipe. But glad you enjoyed the coconut!

  3. I can almost see the abundance of coconut here. Good call! This cake looks delicious.

  4. Yum to that banana peanut butter cream pie and yum to coconut. Everything looks de-lish!

  5. Looks great. Glad you and your coconut-loving parents enjoyed it!

  6. It looks tasty! Im glad you enjoyed.

  7. This looks amazing, we loved it!

  8. I couldn’t taste the rum either, but I still loved this cake! I think I might have to make another soon. Glad you and your folks enjoyed it.

  9. I had tried a coconut cake a week back, though it was moist and tasty. It was very crumbly. Any suggestions on why?

Leave a Reply

