• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Buckeyes

img_2260

I love buckeyes.  Anything with chocolate and peanut butter has to be good, and it’s my favorite combination.  I had been wanting to make buckeyes for a long time, but hadn’t really looked for a good recipe to try.  When Bridget posted them in December, I knew I had to make them.  They were pretty easy to make.  The ingredient list is short and simple, and I even had everything on hand.  You just have to keep the freezing time in mind when you decide to make these, because after you shape them they need to stay in the freezer for at least 4 hours.  I need to work on my chocolate dipping skills, but otherwise the process went smoothly.  I got about 40 buckeyes out of this recipe, but I think I need to roll them a bit smaller next time (plus that gives you a better peanut butter to chocolate ratio).

I gave about half of these to my dad for Christmas in his stocking.  Otherwise I probably would have eaten them all by myself 🙂  I knew he would like them since I got my love of chocolate and peanut butter from him.  These rich treats sure were hard to resist!  They definitely didn’t last long with either one of us.

img_2262

Buckeyes

Makes 4 to 5 dozen

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 (16-ounce) jar creamy peanut butter
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
3 cups (12 ounces) powdered sugar
16 ounces seimisweet chocolate, chopped

1. In a standing mixer fitted with paddle attachment, beat butter on medium-low speed until creamy. Add peanut butter and continue mixing until fully blended. Blend in vanilla. With the mixer on low speed, gradually add the powdered sugar. Mix on medium-low speed until fully blended. It should have the texture of very thick cookie dough.

2. Roll the peanut butter mixture into 1-inch balls, and place the balls on a parchment- or wax paper-lined baking sheet. Push a toothpick into each ball. Put the peanut butter balls in the freezer and chill until hard, at least 4 hours.

3. Melt the chocolate in a large heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of almost-simmering water, stirring occasionally, until smooth. Using the toothpick as a handle, dip each peanut butter ball in chocolate, leaving a section of peanut butter uncoated. Place chocolate covered balls on parchment or wax paper and remove the toothpick. Once the peanut butter has softened, you can use a finger to smooth over the hole from the toothpick.  Buckeyes can be stored, loosely covered, at room temperature for at least a week.

Source: adapted from The Way the Cookie Crumbles

5 Responses

  1. I totally thought of you when I made these, because I know how much you love chocolate and peanut butter. I’m glad the recipe worked out for you.

  2. Mmm, I love these! I’ve never tried to make them though. It doesn’t look like it would be as hard as I thought it would be!

  3. I totally agree! You can’t go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate. YUM!

  4. I love buckeyes – peanut butter and chocolate were meant to be together! 🙂

  5. […] The peanut butter filling was quite tasty.  It was the same type of filling you would use to make buckeyes.  I did change the frosting, using my favorite peanut butter frosting recipe instead because I […]

Leave a comment