• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Almond Joy Ice Cream

I’ve always been a fan of Almond Joy candy bars, so I immediately bookmarked this recipe when I saw it.  Unfortunately, I got busy making other things and forgot about this one.  We recently had a faculty meeting where they handed out mini candy bars, and as I reached for an Almond Joy, I thought of this ice cream and put it on my list for that week.  Once I made it, I couldn’t believe it had taken me so long!  This is one of my favorite ice creams.  It actually reminded me very much of the German Chocolate Ice Cream I made a few months ago.  It was a standard custard recipe, made very rich by the coconut milk and dark cocoa powder.  Mixing in the almonds and coconut gave it just the right texture.  I added way more coconut than the recipe called for just because I like a lot :)  If you are a fan of Almond Joys, this is certainly the ice cream for you!

Almond Joy Ice Cream
Source: adapted from How to Eat a Cupcake

1 ½ cups heavy cream, divided

1 cup whole milk

½ cup unsweetened coconut milk

2/3 cup granulated sugar

3 tablespoons dark cocoa powder

1 ¼ cups sweetened or unsweetened flaked dried coconut, divided

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

6 egg yolks

3 tablespoons cream of coconut

¼ teaspoon coconut extract

Pinch of salt

½ cup roasted almonds, roughly chopped (I used slivered almonds)

In a small saucepan, whisk together 1 cup heavy cream, whole milk, coconut milk, sugar, and cocoa powder.  Mix in ½ cup dried coconut and the vanilla.  Warm over medium heat, stirring often, until the sugar dissolved and small bubbles form around the edges, about 4-5 minutes.

In a small bowl, whisk together the egg yolks and the remaining ½ cup of heavy cream until blended.  Whisk ¼ of the coconut-milk mixture into the yolks.  Then whisk the yolk mixture back into the saucepan with the remaining coconut-milk mixture.  Heat over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until thick enough to coat the back of a spoon, 4-5 minutes.

Pour the hot custard unto a bowl and cool completely in an ice bath, 30-45 minutes.  Once the custard has cooled to room temperature, remove from the ice bath.  Place a piece of plastic wrap directly on top of the surface of the custard to prevent a “skin” from forming.  Refrigerate until well chilled, at least 3 hours.

Place in an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.  After churning, stir in the remaining ¾ dried coconut, cream of coconut, coconut extract, almonds, and a pinch of salt.  Transfer mixture to a plastic container and freeze.

35 Responses

  1. Your ice cream looks fantastic. I need to use up my leftover coconut. I may use it in this. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  2. further proof that i NEED an ice cream maker!!🙂

  3. Almond joys are my favorite, I just got my ice cream maker all chilled for the season, this might be the first recipe I try.

  4. OH YUM! Almond joys are my favorite and this looks totally delicious!!!

  5. This would go PERFECT with the Almond Joy Brownies I just posted about!! Yum. You are the ice cream queen!

  6. […] recently made Almond Joy Ice Cream, and Katrina left a comment on my blog saying that she just posted these brownies earlier that […]

  7. almond ice cream great taste i love it too too too much

  8. I think the admin of this web page is in fact working hard in favor of his website, because here
    every stuff is quality based data.

  9. […] recently made Almond Joy Ice Cream, and Katrina left a comment on my blog saying that she just posted these brownies earlier that […]

  10. […] recently made Almond Joy Ice Cream, and Katrina left a comment on my blog saying that she just posted these brownies earlier that […]

  11. […] recently made Almond Joy Ice Cream, and Katrina left a comment on my blog saying that she just posted these brownies earlier that […]

  12. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyways, just wanted to say superb blog!

  13. A thousand thank-you praises are not enough to convey how appreciative I am to her for what
    she does for the Appalachian Trail. How many hours, in a given day, are you truly and honestly focused or living your definition. Let’s talk about the foreshadowing for a quick moment.

  14. В современное время большую популярность набирают ягоды
    годжи. И это не постоянно, поскольку они
    очень полезные и при этом противные и красивые .

    Ягода годжи хранится в сушеном
    виде . При заваривании ее заливают ягоды (https://github.com/) холодной присыпкой, чаще всего смешивая с чаем .

    Раствор с ягодами годжи заваривается очень вкусным и ароматным
    .

  15. Do you have any video of that? I’d like to find
    out more details.

  16. When someone writes an paragraph he/she keeps the
    thought of a user in his/her mind that how a user can understand it.
    Thus that’s why this post is amazing. Thanks!

  17. My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous
    websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.

    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net.

    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress
    content into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  18. Kenra is yet another unique hair care product brand.
    Nutrition is the basis for a good health of the entire body, including
    hair. Proper hair cure depends on the kind of tresses you have, so
    the methods utilized by the sister or mate may not suit your hair.

  19. There are great name outfits over there like Scotts
    Lawn Care and Chem Lawn and numerous others, that might be quite unreasonable, but they do
    eminent work. The Birmingham Lawn Care must also give you insight to get rid of the moss in the lawn and then the lawn will
    really look good in its newly fed soft soil and the green grass
    that are going to cover the soil of your lawn to bring
    in the velvety feel underneath your feet. It is ideal to examine
    your Scotts Lawn Treatment System, specially the instruction leaflet on how the right volume of fertilizer that demands to be dispersed to
    your lawn (commonly two.

  20. company and ask if they offer SR-22 or DUI insurance.
    Driving under influence (DUI) – it is completely outlawed in Minneapolis.
    It is best to come clean about it because it can lead to a simple outcome.

  21. A local DUI Attorney in Los Angeles County will know personnel in the police department, court and other
    attorneys involved and what argument may work best with the Los Angeles court and police authorities.
    The attorney would make his defense on the basis of substantial evidence and remove the
    allegations that don’t involve alcohol. For instance, you
    have decided to go on an out of town trip and plan to drink to the limits, ask somebody to go with
    you if this is the case.

  22. After I originally commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me
    when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment
    is added I get four emails with the exact same comment. Is there
    an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Many thanks!

  23. Hi, fantastic advice and an fascinating article post,
    it is going to be interesting if this is still the state of affairs in a few months time

  24. Awfully interesting article

  25. Hi, fantastic suggestion and an exciting post, it’s going to be exciting if this is still the situation in a few months
    time

  26. Heya this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills
    so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  27. I very rarely discuss these items, but I assumed
    this on deserved a well done

  28. Impressive critique, I liked the digital tv converter box kmart
    bit

  29. Impressive Piece of writing

  30. Exceptionally exciting critique

  31. This site really has all the info I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  32. My brother suggested I may like this blog. He was entirely right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how so much time I
    had spent for this info! Thanks!

  33. I go to see every day a few sites and blogs to read content,
    however this web site presents quality based posts.

  34. Wonderful blog you have here but I was wanting to know
    if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed in this article?

    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get comments from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.

    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  35. Reblogged this on yumozilbuzz.

Leave a Reply

