• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake

DSC_1230

I have had my eye on this recipe for quite some time, and I decided to finally make it.  I could not for the life of me get a good picture of it, but it is quite delicious.  This cheesecake was more intense than regular chocolate cheesecake.  The caramel gave it a much deeper, richer flavor.  Making the caramel is the most time-consuming part of the recipe, but the rest is very easy.

I had a bit of trouble with the caramel.  The caramel seized up on me, but after stirring it on the heat, it broke up, and everything went smoothly after that.  Deb points out that the caramelized sugar adds so much more to the recipe, and I definitely agree. This cheesecake had a stronger, richer flavor than if you had simply added the sugar without caramelizing it.  It got rave reviews when I served it, and I will definitely make it again when I need a decadent cheesecake fix🙂

Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake
Source: Smitten Kitchen

1 crumb-crust recipe (recipe below)
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup heavy cream
8 oz fine-quality bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened), chopped
1/2 cup sour cream
3 (8-oz) packages cream cheese, softened
4 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla

Make crumb crust as directed in separate recipe, using chocolate wafer cookies instead of graham crackers.

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Cook sugar in a dry heavy saucepan over moderately low heat, stirring slowly with a fork, until melted and pale golden. Cook caramel without stirring, swirling pan, until deep golden. Remove from heat and carefully add heavy cream (mixture will vigorously steam and caramel will harden). Cook over moderately low heat, stirring, until caramel is dissolved. Remove from heat and whisk in chocolate until smooth. Stir in sour cream.

Beat cream cheese with an electric mixer until fluffy, then beat in chocolate mixture on low speed. Beat in eggs, 1 at a time, then vanilla, beating on low speed until each ingredient is incorporated and scraping down bowl between additions.

Put springform pan with crust in a shallow baking pan. Pour filling into crust and bake in baking pan (to catch drips) in middle of oven 55 minutes, or until cake is set 3 inches from edge but center is still slightly wobbly when pan is gently shaken.

Run a knife around top edge of cake to loosen and cool completely in springform pan on a rack. (Cake will continue to set as it cools.) Chill cake, loosely covered, at least 6 hours. Remove side of pan and transfer cake to a plate. Bring to room temperature before serving.

Cooks’ note:
Cheesecake keeps, covered and chilled, 1 week.

Makes 8 to 10 servings

Crumb Crust (I used these cookies to make a chocolate crust).
Recipe adapted from Gourmet, 1999

1 1/2 cups (5 oz) finely ground cookies such as chocolate wafers [I actually double this; I can never get enough cookie.]
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/3 cup sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt

Stir together crust ingredients and press onto bottom and 1 inch up side of a buttered 24-centimeter springform pan. Fill right away or chill up to 2 hours.

Makes enough for a 24-centimeter cheesecake.

8 Responses

  1. I think cheesecake is one of the hardest foods to photograph but you did a great job! I saw this on SK and yours looks just as good!

  2. I think your cheesecake photo looks great, too! This cheesecake looks and sounds fabulous. I need to make this ASAP!

  3. I think your photo is great! Shows how smooth and rich this must be – yum!

  4. I was looking for something delicious AND pretty, and I think I found it. I’ll be making this cheesecake Sunday, and I hope mine gets rave reviews too!

  5. Wow, even the name is delicious and when I see the picture I want to make this cheesecake immediately. Is there anything more tasty that a cheesecake with chocolate flavour? I don’t think so. Well, gotta try it now.

  6. WOW…this looks So decadent and delicious! This might be the perfect recipe to break in my SpringForm Pan! I am really excited to try this!
    I love your blog and have you in the “blogs I like” section on my site! Thanks for the great content!

  7. As soon as I saw the photo, my mouth started watering. It looks so creamy! *sigh* I’m sure I’d love every rich bite!🙂

Leave a Reply

