• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Bailey’s Cheesecake

We recently went to a potluck event, and I eagerly signed up to bring a dessert.  Since it was so close to St. Patrick’s Day, I kept thinking I wanted to do something with Bailey’s.  I went back and forth between a cheesecake and brownies before ultimately going with this cheesecake.  What is even more exciting to me about this cheesecake is that it’s my own recipe!  I made this completely on my own without a recipe to guide me and it came out just as I hoped.  I wanted a full, defined Bailey’s flavor, so I was very liberal when adding it in.  I was happy with the way the flavor came out, and the chocolate was just enough to complement it.  I covered it with a chocolate ganache, and then piped the ganache (thickened with some powdered sugar) to decorate the sides.  Everyone kept telling me how much they enjoyed this, so I was happy to call it a success!

Chocolate Bailey’s Cheesecake
A Dinner & Dessert original

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

For the crust:

1 ½ cups chocolate cookie crumbs

4 tablespoons butter, melted

2 teaspoons ground coffee

Combine all ingredients.  Press in the bottom of a greased springform pan.  Bake for 10 minutes, then cool while you prepare the cheesecake batter.

For the cheesecake:

4 (8-ounce) packages cream cheese, softened

4 eggs

1 cup sugar

¾ cup heavy cream

¾ cup Bailey’s Irish Cream liquor

3 ounces semisweet chocolate, melted and cooled

Fill a roasting pan with warm water and place in the oven on bottom rack.

Beat cream cheese on medium speed with an electric mixer, about 3 minutes.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Add sugar, mixing until incorporated.  Slowly add heavy cream, followed by the Bailey’s.  Finally, add melted and cooled chocolate.  Pour in springform pan.  Place in the oven and bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes, or until cheesecake jiggles slightly.  Turn oven off, and cool for at least an hour.  Place cheesecake in refrigerator overnight.

For the ganache:

3 ounces semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

¾ cup heavy cream

2 tablespoons corn syrup

2 tablespoons butter, softened and cut into pieces

1 tablespoon Bailey’s Irish Cream Liquor

Place chopped chocolate in heatproof bowl.  Boil cream, then pour over chocolate.  Allow to sit for a minute, then stir until smooth.  Add butter, corn syrup, and Bailey’s and stir until incorporated.  Pour over cheesecake, then refrigerate about 30 minutes, or until set.

Optional: Reserve some of the ganache, and add powdered sugar until it reaches a frosting-like consistency.  Pipe decoratively on edge of cheesecake.

9 Responses

  1. I’ve actually never cooked with Bailey’s, which is just sad. This cheesecake looks like a great place to start!

  2. yum! I was just thinking the other day that I want to bake with Bailey’s soon, esp since we were gone for St. Patty’s day, so this might be the lucky recipe! Congrats on Making it up on your own!!

  3. I actually don’t think it gets any better than this! I love baking with bailey’s. It adds such a nice flavor to everything.

  4. OH!! YUM!!! Bailey’s in cheese cake. Sounds/looks fantastic.

  5. Congrats about creating it with your own recipe! As with all your sweets, the piping looks so perfect. I bet this tastes just as it looks.

  6. Looks delicious!

  7. I used to work in a small restaurant and we would make this cheesecake. But I have to admit it didn’t look so impressive. And the recipe was a bit different as well. This one looks beautiful!

  8. […] Chocolate Bailey’s Cheesecake on Dinner & Dessert […]

  9. Chocolate Bailey’s Cheesecake on Dinner & Dessert but this cheese cake or chocolate?

Leave a Reply

