• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Chip Muffins

One evening a few nights ago, David mentioned that he didn’t have any snacks to eat at work.  He never eats first thing in the morning, but after he’s been at work for a few hours, he’s ready for something.  I am willing to bake him something as often as he wants, but he rarely asks for anything.  I offered to make him some muffins, and since it was late, I knew I needed a recipe where I had all the ingredients on hand.  Chocolate chip muffins immediately came to mind, and I searched for a recipe since I didn’t already have one saved.

These were so simple to put together, and I didn’t even have to get out my mixer.  It’s nice to have that instant gratification!  I took one out for myself, and loved how light and fluffy they were.  These made a great mid-morning snack and David said he loved having them to look forward to all week at work.  The chocolate chips will make you think you’re getting away with something for breakfast🙂

Chocolate Chip Muffins
Source: Bake or Break

  • 1 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted & slightly cooled
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375°. Lightly grease or line 12 muffins cups.  In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, beat the eggs. Stir in melted butter, milk, and vanilla.  Add to flour mixture, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Spoon batter into muffin cups, filling each about 2/3 full.  Bake for 20-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into a muffin comes out clean. Serve warm.

2 Responses

  1. Great idea! I should make these for my hubby cause he’s not big on eating breakfast either, but is more of a snacker.

  2. I wonder if I could reverse them and make chocolate muffins with white chocolate chips. Could be yummy.

Leave a Reply

