• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Mexican Beans with Chorizo and Greens

Another winner from Rick Bayless!  I love chorizo, and this recipe stood out to me.  It’s basically a soup, but a pretty thick one.  With the greens, black beans, chorizo, chiles in adobo, and cheese, there are a lot of strong flavors present, but they go together really well.  It was incredibly simple to make, and I put it together in about 30 minutes, making it a great weeknight meal.  The chiles make it nice and spicy, and you can adjust the spiciness by adding more of less, depending on your taste.  We both really loved this, and I know it will be a repeat dinner on the menu at our house!

Mexican Beans with Chorizo and Greens
Source: Mexican Everyday by Rick Bayless

8 to 12 ounces fresh Mexican chorizo sausage, casing removed

10 ounces cleaned young spinach (about 10 cups) OR one 12-ounce bunch Swiss chard, thick lower stems cut off, leaves sliced crosswise into ½ inch strips (about 8 cups) (I used the Swiss chard)

Two 15-ounce cans black beans, drained

1 to 2 canned chipotle chiles in adobo, stemmed, seeded and finely chopped

Salt

½ cup crumbled Mexican queso fresco or other fresh cheese such as feta or goat cheese

½ cup chopped green onions or thin-sliced red onion, for garnish

In a medium-large heavy pot (such as a Dutch oven), cook the chorizo over medium heat, stirring regularly and breaking up clumps, until lightly browned and thoroughly done, about 8 to 10 minutes.

While the chorizo is cooking, place the spinach or Swiss chard in a microwaveable bowl, cover with plastic wrap, poke a few holes in the top and microwave on high until completely wilted, usually about 2 minutes for spinach, 3 minutes or so for Swiss chard.  Uncover the bowl and set aside.

When the chorizo is ready, add the beans, chopped chipotles, and 1 ½ cups water.  Simmer for 5 to 10 minutes to blend the flavors.  Taste and season with salt, usually about ½ teaspoon, depending on the saltiness of the chorizo and beans.  Add the wilted greens and let the mixture return to a boil.

Ladle into bowls and serve, passing the cheese and onion for each person to add.

8 Responses

  1. This looks really similar to the black beans with masa dumplings that Cate made recently. I tried her recipe (well, it’s also Bayless’ originally), and it seemed like it was a lot more effort than necessary. This looks like the simpler, just as tasty version!

  2. Oh, this looks wonderful. I need to quit putting off picking up a copy of this cookbook for myself! I love chorizo.

  3. YUMM!! I’ve been looking for a recipe to use up my leftover, homemade adobo sauce. This looks fantastic!

  4. Yum…I randomly bought a chorizo the other day, and I lost the recipe that I was supposed to make with it…now I have a new one to try! This looks great!

  5. Not surprisingly, this is on my to-make list, too.🙂 it looks so delicious and comforting!

  6. I love Mexican food, this is a great recipe thanks!

  7. This looks delicious. I love Mexican food and everything that is spicy so I will definitely have to try this recipe.

  8. I finally made it, and posted it! It’s soooooooo good, and a great soup. It was my first time using chard, and I’m loving this new veggie!

Leave a Reply

