• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Homemade Applesauce

I’ve always liked applesauce, and lately I’ve really enjoyed eating it as part of breakfast.  And since I always prefer homemade versions of food, I wanted to try a homemade version.  I found one that looked promising, and couldn’t wait to try it out.  Homemade applesauce is actually quite easy.  After slicing the apples, you simply mix them in a pot with the other ingredients and simmer for about 20-30 minutes, or until the apples are tender.  Once the apples are tender, you just mash them (I used my immersion blender) until you get the right consistency.  You can have chunky or smooth applesauce depending on your preference.  My applesauce is darker than the original, but that probably is because I used ground cinnamon rather than a cinnamon stick.  This was a great version and was full of cinnamon flavor.  I loved having this for breakfast every morning!

Homemade Applesauce
Source: slightly adapted from Simply Recipes

Ingredients

  • 3 to 4 lbs of peeled, cored, and quartered apples. (Make sure you use a good cooking apple like Golden Delicious, Granny Smith, Fuji, Jonathan, Mcintosh, or Gravenstein.)
  • 4 strips of lemon peel – use a vegetable peeler to strip 4 lengths
  • Juice of one lemon, about 3-4 Tbsp
  • 3 inches of cinnamon stick (I used 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon)
  • 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar
  • up to 1/4 cup of white sugar
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt

Method

1 Put all ingredients into a large pot. Cover. Bring to boil. Lower heat and simmer for 20-30 minutes.

2 Remove from heat. Remove cinnamon sticks and lemon peels. Mash with potato masher.

Ready to serve, either hot or refrigerated. Delicious with vanilla ice cream or vanilla yogurt.

Freezes easily, lasts up to one year in a cold freezer.

3 Responses

  1. I’ve been wanting to make my own applesauce!! Yours came out perfectly!!

  2. Yum! My mum usually makes applesauce every year from the pseudo crab apple tree in their yard and it is SOOO good. Maybe I’ll have to try making this and see how it compares.🙂

  3. I can’t believe it’s this easy! I have a great applesauce loaf recipe, so next time I bake it I’m going to use my own applesauce.

Leave a Reply

