• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Valentine’s Day Cookies with Royal Icing

First of all, Happy Valentine’s Day! (a couple days early)  We don’t make a huge deal out of Valentine’s Day, but it’s always fun to celebrate with cards and some sweet treats🙂

I’m trying to practice my royal icing skills, and this time, I looked to Valentine’s Day as an excuse to make some cookies!  I’ve gotten better at making designs on the cookies, and love all the creative ways that you can decorate.  One thing that I’m working on is making sure the icing is thin enough.  The icing I used to outline the cookies wasn’t as thin as it should have been, and that made it more difficult to use.  Next time I’ll know to add more water.  I did the outlining and filling early in the afternoon, and in the evening it was dry enough for me to do the designs.  It was my first time writing on the cookies, and I think it went pretty well for my first time!  I’m excited about my next opportunity to decorate and hope that I will continue to get better!

I’m going to link to my previous posts for recipes and decorating tips:

Pumpkin Cookies
St. Patrick’s Day Cookies

13 Responses

  1. I love your recipes, I have a few of my own…but they don’t involve a kitchen…you might have fun with them!
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. Did you use gel icings to color your royal icing? If so, which colors?

  3. Ooooh, they look beautiful! Excellent job.

  4. You did a great job! They are beautiful.

  5. they look great! the icing colors are very vibrant!

  6. I think you did a great job, especially writing the words.

  7. super cute!!

  8. What fun! I wish I had made some cookies, although i suppose it’s not too late.

    My handwriting is really bad on cookies, so I applaud your ability to write straight with icing!

  9. These are so cute! I love the pink and red together! You must have a really steady hand because if I tried to decorate those they would totally look like a 3 year old did it haha🙂

  10. Really cute! I like the combination of colors you used. I was going to make V-Day cookies this year but it didn’t happen!

  11. Aw these are great, I love your valentines day cookies😀.

  12. I should make a focused effort to practice with royal icing too. I played around with it a couple times last year, but lately I haven’t had the patience for it. Plus buttercream just tastes so much better!

Leave a Reply

