• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Red Velvet Cheesecake

I have been wanting to try this recipe for a long time, but felt that it was most appropriate for Christmas or Valentine’s Day.  So, this year for Valentine’s Day, I made this recipe a priority!  I love red velvet cake, but would have never thought of a red velvet cheesecake.  I like non-traditional cheesecakes, so I was pretty sure I would enjoy this, and couldn’t wait to try it.  The taste of red velvet is hard to describe, especially to someone who has never had it.  If you have tried red velvet cake, it tastes just like the cake in cheesecake form.  If you haven’t had red velvet cake, what are you waiting for?  In addition to this cheesecake, go try some red velvet cake right now! :)  The cream cheese topping was a great addition, and this really is a genius creation.  If you’re looking for a Valentine’s Day dessert, this would be a great one to make!  If you like all things red velvet, you’ll probably also like these Red Velvet Whoopie Pies, which I made for Valentine’s Day last year.

Red Velvet Cheesecake
Source: Culinary Concoctions by Peabody, originally from the Southern Living Christmas Cookbook

For the Crust:
1 ½ cups chocolate cookie crumbs
¼ cup butter, melted
1 TBSP granulated sugar

For the Filling:
3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, at room temperature
1 ½ cups granulated sugar
4 large eggs, lightly beaten
3 TBSP unsweetened cocoa
1 cup sour cream
½ cup whole buttermilk
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp distilled white vinegar
2 (1 oz) bottles red food coloring

For the Topping:
1 (3 ounce) package cream cheese, at room temperature
¼ cup butter, at room temperature
2 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

For the Crust:
Stir together graham cracker crumbs, melted butter and 1 TBSP sugar; press mixture onto bottom of a 9-inch springform pan.

For the Filling:
Beat together cream cheese and sugar at medium low speed with an electric mixer 1 minute.
Add eggs, unsweetened cocoa, sour cream, buttermilk, vanilla extract, vinegar and food coloring.  Mix on low speed just until fully combined.
Pour batter into prepared pan.
Bake at 325F for 10  minutes, reduce heat to 300F, and bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes or until center is firm.
Run knife along outer edge of cheese. Turn oven off and let cheesecake stand in oven 30 minutes.
Remove cheesecake from oven; cool in pan on a wire rack for 30 m minutes.
Cover and chill for 8 hours.

For the topping:
Beat cream cheese and butter at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth; gradually add powdered sugar and vanilla, beating until smooth.
Remove cheesecake from refrigerator and spread topping evenly over top of cheesecake.
Remove sides of springform. Garnish if desired.

13 Responses

  1. Woah!!! This looks intense and awesome!! I want a slice (or three!) haha. YUMMY!

  2. Yum – I have never seen this before – looks delicious!

  3. I made this for Christmas a few years ago after I saw it on Peabody’s site… it is really really delicious! Your’s looks so pretty!!

  4. Gorgeous! This looks great!

  5. So. You want to hear something ironic. I made red velvet cupcakes yesterday, for V-day. (Posted them today). As I was walking down the street, coming home from class, I thought to myself. Wouldn’t red velvet be great as a cheesecake? And now here we are.

    Looks fabulous.

  6. Ha ha – that looks so cool! I’ve made red velvet cheesecake cupcakes, but I think an entire cheesecake would be that much better!

  7. I made this a few years ago for Christmas and it was sooooo good! Yours looks absolutely beautiful!

  8. Oh wow! That looks delicious and I LOVE the awesome color you got with it!

  9. is it off-color (pun intended) if i ask how consuming so much red food coloring affected the hue of your poo? just curious.🙂
    beautiful cake, erin!

  10. It looks so good. Red velvet cake is my boyfriend’s fave, and he always requests it for his b-day. I think I’ll surprise him this year with your cheesecake (that is if I can wait until May to try this recipe, lol)

  11. It is so beautiful! It’s a pity the Valentine’s Day is behind us cause it’s just perfect for that occasion. It’s also great for Christmas, I’ll definitely make it this year.

  12. Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious. That’s a GOOD recipe ya’ got there mm?

Leave a Reply

