• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Brown Sugar Fudge

I’ve always been a fan of brown sugar.  I love the full, sweet flavor it adds to baked goods.  I was always one to add  lots of brown sugar to my oatmeal as a kid.  So when I saw this recipe for brown sugar fudge, I wanted to find out how it would taste with brown sugar as the starring ingredient.  As I expected, it was delicious!  It’s your typical preparation for fudge where you heat the evaporated milk, butter, brown sugar, vanilla, and salt until it reaches the soft ball stage, but with this recipe, you transfer the mixture to your stand mixer and use it to beat in the confectioners sugar.  This ensures a thick, smooth fudge.  The fudge set up quickly and I couldn’t wait to cut into it.  To my delight, it had a full flavor, very much like molasses or caramel.  It was also gobbled up quickly when I served it to guests during the Christmas season.  I’ll definitely keep this on my baking list for the future!

Brown Sugar Fudge
Source: Gourmet July 2003 via Epicurious

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons evaporated milk
2 cups packed light brown sugar (14 ounces)
1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) unsalted butter, cut into tablespoons
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups confectioners’ sugar

Special equipment: a candy thermometer

Combine milk, brown sugar, butter, and salt in a 3-quart heavy saucepan and bring just to a boil over moderate heat, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Reduce heat to low and simmer, stirring frequently, until mixture registers 238°F on thermometer and a teaspoon of mixture dropped into a small bowl of cold water holds a soft ball when pressed between your fingers (this will take about 30 minutes).

Transfer to a heatproof bowl. Beat in vanilla with an electric mixer at medium speed, then add confectioners’ sugar a little at a time, beating until fudge is thick and smooth, about 5 minutes.

Spread evenly in an ungreased 8-inch square baking pan. Refrigerate, uncovered, until firm enough to cut, about 30 minutes.

Cut fudge into 64 squares with a sharp paring knife.

6 Responses

  1. More fudgey goodness! Sorry, I couldn’t resist. I too love brown sugar – it just has so much more character than plain granulated.

  2. Yum! Looks good. I love me some brown sugar.

  3. Looking good love to try this one

  4. That sounds really delicious! I’ll have to keep it in mind next time I want fudge. I only ever seem to make it at Christmas; should really do it more often.

  5. Wow, I made this recipe this weekend, and this fudge is fantastic. I doubled the vanilla (I use Mexican vanilla), but otherwise followed your recipe. So good!

  6. This recipe sounds amazing…two of my favorite things. I even put brown sugar in my hamburgers. IT IS AWESOME.

    Can’t wait to try this one

Leave a Reply

