• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Butterscotch Pecan Ice Cream

I’ve always been a fan of butterscotch, and I’ve always loved pecans, so this ice cream sounded perfect to me.  I had all the ingredients on hand one afternoon when I wanted to make some ice cream, so it was meant to be!  It’s a typical custard-based ice cream, which made it very creamy, and the buttered pecans made it even better.  I’ve made so many custard-based ice creams that the whole process goes very quickly now.  While I was waiting for the custard to chill, I made the pecans, which were quite easy.  All that you have to do is melt butter and then stir in the  toasted pecans and a little bit of salt.  I love the way toasting the pecans brings out their flavor.  I love lots of  mix-ins in my ice cream, so I doubled the amount of pecans, so that’s why there are so many of them in the picture.  This ice cream had just the right amount of butterscotch flavor and the crunchy pecans added so much to it.  This would be great on top of a blondie, just like David Lebovitz suggests in the book.

Buttered Pecan Ice Cream
Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

5 tablespoons butter, salted or unsalted

¾ cup packed dark brown sugar

½ teaspoon coarse salt

2 cups heavy cream

¾ cup whole milk

6 large egg yolks

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon scotch whiskey

Buttered Pecans, recipe follows

Melt the butter in a medium saucepan, then stir in the brown sugar and salt until well moistened.  Whisk in 1 cup of the cream and the milk.

Warm the brown sugar and cream mixture.  Pour the remaining 1 cup cream into a large bowl and set a mesh strainer on top.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm brown sugar mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula.  Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream.  Add the vanilla and scotch, then stir until cool over an ice bath.

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  During the last minutes of churning, add the Buttered Pecans.

Buttered Pecans

1 ½ tablespoons butter, salted or unsalted

1 ½ cups pecan halves

¼ teaspoon coarse salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Melt the butter in a skillet.  Remove from the heat and toss the pecans with the melted butter until well coated, then sprinkle with the salt.  Spread evenly on a baking sheet and toast in the oven for 10 to 12 minutes, stirring once during baking.

Remove from the oven and let cool completely.

6 Responses

  1. This looks awesome!

  2. this amazing recipe cant wait to try it

  3. This ice cream looks amazing. I’ll be making a nut-less version of this very soon! Thanks for posting it!

  4. You are the ice cream Queen. Have I already told you that. I would totally love this, but my husband would hate it. My mom is visiting in Feb. and it’s her favorite, maybe I’ll make “her” some!😉

  5. I have this recipe bookmarked, and it looks SO good. Butter pecan is one of my favorite ice creams. Glad to know you liked it!

  6. I’m going to have to try this one. I don’t usually like nuts in my ice cream, but maybe toasting them w/butter & salt would change my mind. I got The Perfect Scoop for Christmas and have only made a couple things so far.

Leave a Reply

