• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Oatmeal Almost Candy Bars

With a name like this, how could you not want to make it?  I’ve been hoping these would get picked for a while now, and I finally got my chance to make them!  These bar cookies start with a crust for a base layer, and are then topped with a fudge layers consisting of chocolate, butter, sweetened condensed milk, and peanuts.  You then top the bars with some of the reserved base layer.  The result is a delicious sweet and salty combination.  I skipped the raisins because, although I love raisins, they seemed out of place in this recipe.  I used honey roasted peanuts and they added a nice crunchy texture.  These were great bars and did not disappoint.  I kept a few for myself and then set the rest with David for his Christmas potluck that they had back in December and they ate every bit of them :)  You can view this recipe on Lillian’s blog, and see how everyone liked the recipe by visiting the TWD blog.

11 Responses

  1. I’ll have to give them a try another time with peanuts (still no raisins though). I went a totally different direction so that the fam would eat them–pecans and caramel! Good, bad-for-me stuff!😉

  2. I left out the raisins.

    And the cinnamon.

    And forgot to cool them.

    And they were best an hour out of the oven.

  3. They look perfectly toasty browned – and I’ll bet the peanuts were really, really good in there.

  4. They look great! I added the raisins and they added a nice chewy texture.

  5. Nice job. I loved these and so did everyone I shared them with. They seem to be an all around crowd pleaser of a cookie.

  6. I love the idea of honey roasted peanuts. Thanks for baking with me this week!

  7. They were great bars, I think so too! I left the raisins out as well! Your bars look so good!!

  8. Honey roasted peanuts sound like they’d be great in these bars! Great idea. I like raisins and chocolate a lot, so I enjoyed them in these bars.

  9. That is so awesome that you kept a few for yourself. I did the same because I knew these will be inhaled in seconds.

    The co-workers had seconds. Sheesh. Chillax, people.

  10. Why didn’t I think of honey-roasted peanuts? Excellent idea. And I would leave the raisins out too if I make these again.

  11. Well, it was definitely the name that made me take a second look at these, and I’m glad I did. And I will not even try them with raisins, going to go straight for the honey roasted peanuts.

Leave a Reply

