• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Butter Pecan Fudge

My dad has always been a fan of butter pecan ice cream.  We always made sure there was a carton of butter pecan ice cream in the freezer because it is his favorite.  My mom and I sometimes teased him for liking such a boring flavor, but it is a good, simple flavor.  When I saw this recipe for butter pecan fudge, I immediately thought of my dad and wanted to make it to take with me when I visited my parents for Christmas.  I put this in his stocking Christmas morning, and he was surprised to see his favorite ice cream in fudge form.  I really liked this fudge.  It had a nice, buttery flavor and I loved the texture of the pecans.  It is great on its own and I think it would be a great add-in to some butter pecan ice cream.  It would certainly boost such a “boring” bowl of ice cream🙂

Butter Pecan Fudge
Source: Sweet Nicks, originally from Taste of Home Holidays 2007

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 cup pecan halves, toasted and coarsely chopped

In a large heavy saucepan, combine the butter, sugars, cream and salt. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally. Boil for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from the heat; stir in vanilla. Stir in confectioners’ sugar until smooth. Fold in pecans.

Spread into a buttered 8-in. square dish. Cool to room temperature. Cut into 1-in. squares. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Yield: 1-1/4 pounds.


7 Responses

  1. I love the idea of swirling little bits of this fudge into ice cream. Love this recipe… mmmm.

  2. Looks good! This was actually on my baking list for this year, but my bag of pecans disappeared at the last minute.

  3. This looks fabulous!! My dad and I both are just like your dad: we LOVE butter pecan anything!! Of course, we don’t think it’s all that boring though.😉 This would be a perfect birthday present for my dad this week .. thank you for sharing!!

  4. […] Butter Pecan Fudge « Dinner & Dessert. […]

  5. I have really enjoyed the Butter Pecan Fudge. It been great but I only have two pieces. A special thanks to my daughter for fixing it for me. Love, Daddy

  6. Erin, you are the fudge making queen this year – I am so impressed with the variety you keep churning out!

  7. Wow. Adding this to butter pecan ice cream would definitely be over the top. That said, I’m going to have to bookmark this one for later. =)

Leave a Reply

