• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake (TWD)

Happy 2nd birthday to Tuesdays with Dorie!  It’s hard to believe that it’s been two years and to see how far this group has come.  I’ve been a part of this group since almost the very beginning- my first recipe was the Black and White Cake posted on February 5, 2008.  I hadn’t been blogging very long at that point and I think that joining TWD was a key factor and motivator in keeping up my blog.  It has also given me the opportunity to make things I might not otherwise make and it gave an excuse to make things I wanted to make :)  This week we had a choice of what to make, and I thought it would be appropriate to make the cake to celebrate the occasion.  I made this cake to take to my grandmother’s house when we celebrated Christmas with my dad’s family.  It was also right before my uncle’s birthday, so this cake served two purposes.

This was a really great cake.  I had every intention of decorating it more elaborately, but I was very short on time the night before and at the last minute I just sprinkled crushed peppermints on top.  This gave the cake a hint of peppermint flavor.  The cake itself was very chocolaty and moist, but the frosting was really incredible!  I love the way the brown sugar and chocolate worked together.  This will probably be a go-to chocolate frosting for me in the future.

Many thanks to Laurie for starting such a great group, and to Dorie for giving us so many wonderful recipes to make and for being supportive of our group.  And as always, you can go to the TWD blog!

I thought I would list some of my favorite recipes we’ve made over the past two years:

Chipster-Topped Brownies– a great brownie variation that combines a traditional brownie and chocolate chip cookie dough- yum!

Banana Cream Pie– with the delicious custard, this pie was hard to beat!

Devil’s Food White Out Cake– the cover cake, and one of my favorite cakes of all time

Chocolate Peanut Butter Torte– for the chocolate and peanut butter lover, this is the ultimate dessert!

Brioche Raisin Snails– the brioche from this recipe is my favorite for cinnamon rolls, and my husband loves when I make it for him

Snickery Squares– my pick for TWD, and a great bar recipe using chocolate, peanuts, and dulce de leche

13 Responses

  1. Aw, what a lovely looking wintery cake. Fab job babe. So glad you have stuck it out with me all this time. xo

  2. Your cake looks great.

    I ended up making the tarte.

  3. Glad you liked the cake and it was a big hit! Looks great. TWD is the best.

    Having a giveaway on my blog today!

  4. So funny how the same recipe can be so different for each of us. I was disappointed in the cake and the frosting and have been regretting not making the tarte instead. Funny the way it is.🙂

  5. I was reading your favorites and decided that I really need to make those snickery squares. The lemon cream tart was my first recipe so I didn’t miss many. But I did miss those squares….

  6. Beautiful..reminds me of Christmas!!

  7. I made the cake too (though I turned it into cupcakes) and agree that it was really delicious! It’s definitely a new go-to for me. I love the simplicity of the crushed peppermint decorations!

  8. What fun to use peppermint with this cake! Looks lovely!

  9. That reminds me – I’ve still got to make the snickery squares – my husband would love them!

    And I really like the peppermints on top of the cake – it certainly makes it look more festive, especially for a birthday.

  10. looks great w/the peppermint! it’s been fun baking w/you too!

  11. Amazing that you loved the frosting. You have motivated me to try again. Certainly looks good–especially with the peppermint.

  12. Love your cake with the peppermint chips on top.

  13. Oh how I love all kinds of chocolate cakes! This one looks very impressive. Another great inspiration, thank you!

Leave a Reply

