• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pecan Pie (TWD)

I was already planning on making a pecan pie the week before Thanksgiving, but hadn’t decided on which recipe to use.  I looked at a few possibilities, but then I saw that pecan pie was on the TWD schedule for December, so the decision was made for me!  Dorie says this is her favorite pecan pie, and it’s a twist on a classic pecan pie.  It has espresso powder (I used coffee) and chocolate chips.  I have always been a fan of chocolate and espresso together, so I was pretty sure I would like this.  And…I was right!  This was a delicious pie!  I increased the chocolate chips (I’m not sure by how much- I just added a few extra handfuls!) and kept the espresso amount the same, but next time I would probably increase the amount.  I thought the espresso was too subtle.  This was a great pie though, and I can see why Dorie likes it so much.  I’m starting to experiment with gluten free versions of traditional pie crusts, and I tried a recipe from Whole Foods for this one.  It wasn’t quite what I was looking for (and now I know that I need to stay away from tapioca and rice flour…I’m just not crazy about the taste), but I’m sure that I’ll make many more pies and experiment with more recipes :)  Thanks to Beth for choosing this pie for TWD!

8 Responses

  1. Looks really REALLY good! I think that slice belongs to me.😉

    Happy Holidays!

  2. It looks delicious and I agree it was so good! Im glad you liked it!

  3. I wish I had thrown in some chocolate chips – but my audience wasn’t too keen on that idea. It looks perfect – and it certainly held together better than mine did.

  4. Yum Yum Good! I seriously need to try this pie.

  5. It is, indeed, a marvelous pie.

  6. yum, this looks amazing. I’ve never made pecan pie before, and actually I’ve only tasted it once. but it was wonderful!

  7. looks great! I sat this one out since I don’t like pecan pie

  8. Your pie looks great! This was a delicious pie.

Leave a Reply

