• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

German Chocolate Pie

My family loves German Chocolate anything.  It’s pretty common to see German Chocolate Cake at family celebrations, on both my mom’s side and my dad’s side.  In addition to cake, this German Chocolate Pie is family favorite.  It’s hard to think of a year where we haven’t had it at either Thanksgiving or Christmas.  Usually my mom makes it, but this year I decided to try it on my own.  I changed the recipe slightly, mostly stirring all the coconut into the mixture rather than sprinkling it on top. I added some chocolate chips to increase the chocolate flavor, but you can certainly leave them out.  The original recipe calls for only 1/2 cup pecans.  This didn’t seem like nearly enough to me, so I increased the amount to 1 cup.  I also made a mini version since I didn’t have a big crowd to serve this to.  This is a very rich pie, so a little bit goes a long way, but it’s worth every delicious bite!  My mom got this recipe from a newspaper.  I’m not sure which one, though.  I think it was from the Atlanta Journal and Constitution from when my parents lived in Atlanta in the early 1980s.  I hope that if you make this pie, it becomes a favorite of yours as well!

German Chocolate Pie
Source: adapted from a recipe my mom cut out from a newspaper🙂

1 bar (4 ounces) German chocolate

¼ cup butter

1 2/3 cup evaporated milk

1 ½ cups sugar

3 tablespoons cornstarch

1/8 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/3 cups grated coconut

½-1 cup chopped pecans

1 recipe pie crust, partially baked and cooled (I recommend this one from Smitten Kitchen)

Follow recipe for your preferred pie crust.  Partially bake, and allow to cool before filling.

Melt chocolate with butter over low heat, stirring to blend.  Remove from heat.  Gradually blend in milk.  Stir in eggs and vanilla.  Stir together the sugar, cornstarch, and salt.  Add to chocolate mixture and stir until combined.  Stir in coconut and pecans.  Add chocolate chips, if using.  Turn mixture into pie shell.

Combine coconut and nuts.  Sprinkle over filling.  Bake at 375 for 45 minutes, or until top is puffed.  Filling will be soft, but will set while cooling.  Cool at least 4 hours before serving.

8 Responses

  1. I think I might make a regular chocolate pie out of this…YUMMY! Thanks for posting this.

  2. German chocolate cake is one of my favorite desserts of all time, so I can’t wait to try the pie version!

  3. That looks SO great and tasty!

    Enjoy!

  4. This looks incredible. YUM!

  5. Looks like the perfect treat for the holidays! My Dad would especially love it.

  6. Oh my gosh. Yum!

  7. […] that my family can’t get enough of anything German chocolate, whether it be in the form of a pie or a traditional cake.  But ice cream?  This I had to try!  I finally got a chance to make it […]

  8. […] Chocolate Cake German Chocolate Pie German Chocolate Ice […]

Leave a Reply

