• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Cafe Volcano Cookies (TWD)

I was certainly intrigued by this week’s choice.  They were unlike any cookie I’ve ever made.  There is no flour, and you don’t even grind the nuts all that much.  It’s basically held together by the sugar and egg white.  It’s also incredibly simple and took almost no time to make.  You just toast the nuts in the oven, and while they are toasting, you can prepare the other ingredients.  After the nuts are done, just add them to the pot and heat through.  After dropping them on the cookie sheet, just bake and there you go!  I added more espresso powder than the recipe called for because I wanted a strong coffee taste.  I used a mixture of pecans and walnuts because that’s what I had on hand.  I also added some chocolate chips because adding chocolate makes everything better :)  Unfortunately, I overbaked them a little bit, but they were still pretty tasty.  You can view the recipe on MacDuff’s blog, who chose them this week for Tuesdays with Dorie.

6 Responses

  1. Chocolate certainly does make everything better! Great idea!

  2. Well, clearly you had better luck than I did – mine were a mess!

  3. I’m with Megan – mine were a mess too! I just had a little pile of nuts that didn’t really change its appearance in the oven. Great idea on the chocolate!

  4. I came to read about your Volcano cookies…great call on adding chocolate chips. Then I saw the toffee and read that post, then I saw the peanut butter butterscotch fudge and was caught! There is a batch of it cooling in my fridge right now!😀

  5. I really believe that chocolate makes everything nice and perfect! This is a great idea! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Amazingly yummy!

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

