• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Homemade Refried Beans

David and I are known for cooking Mexican food.  We typically have a Mexican dish for dinner at least once a week.  I haven’t included many recipes in my blog because Mexican food can be so hard to photograph sometimes with the color of the tortillas and the oozing cheese.  However, I just had to share these beans with you.  Even though I’ve been making this recipe since March or April, I finally decided that I couldn’t wait any longer!

We love tacos for dinner.  Tacos may seem very ordinary, but they are made special by using homemade refried beans.  Making refried beans at home is surprisingly easy, and you can make a big batch and freeze leftovers for future use.  This recipe starts off by cooking onions.  It is important to cook the onions until they are very browned for the best flavor.  When you mash the beans, you can make them as chunky or as smooth as you want.  Once you make these at home, you will never go back to the can again!

Homemade Refried Beans
Source: Adapted from The Joy of Cooking

1 medium onion, chopped fine
canola oil
2 cloves minced garlic
2 (15-ounce) cans pinto beans, undrained

Heat canola oil on medium-high (I like to use my Dutch oven for this, but any medium-sized pot will work).  Add onion and cook until nice and browned, about 8-10 minutes.  Add garlic; cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Lower heat to medium and add pinto beans, about half a can at a time.  Using a masher, mash beans until desired consistency (you don’t need to completely mash before adding more beans).  Keep on heat until it reaches desired thickness (this should only take a couple of minutes).  Serve and enjoy!

7 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this! I LOVE LOVE LOVE refried beans! Haha.. Now hopefully I’ll make my own.

  2. I don’t think I ever realized how easy it was to make at home. I am sure they are much healthier too! I have The Joy of Cooking and have barley looked at it, I really need to crack it open one of these days.

  3. Hey that comment you made about mexican food being ugly was downright RUDE!!! I’m mexican myself and I would not say it’s the pretties food ever but darn i would not call it ugly.

    • I never meant to make any kind of generalization about Mexican food or culture. I just meant that some Mexican food can be difficult to photograph because of the color of the tortillas and beans and such and the oozing cheese. My husband and I eat Mexican food at least once or twice a week, so obviously we have a lot of respect and admiration for it.

  4. I just recently discovered how much I love refried beans and I’ve been saying how I need to try to make them myself. I can’t wait to try these!

  5. Hey Erin!
    It’s Mrs.NGM from what’s cooking. I made this tonight and it was GREAT! Also made the Mexican rice from your blog which was also wonderful. Both went really well with the flank steak tacos I made tonight. Thank you for blogging these! 🙂

Leave a Reply

