• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Sugar-Topped Molasses Spice Cookies (TWD)

David’s favorite kind of cookie is a ginger cookie.  I try to make them for him pretty often, and he was happy that TWD gave me a reason to make them again.  This is the third time ginger cookies have appeared on my blog, and I wanted to find out his opinion of Dorie’s version would be.  The favorite recipe is the Williams Sonoma version I made two years ago.  I used to make those all the time, and subsequent ginger cookie recipes have had a lot to live up to.

Dorie’s version was pretty good.  I baked them at the low end of the baking time to get a softer cookie rather than a crispy one.  They were thin but still chewy, and had a strong molasses and ginger flavor.  Chilling or freezing the dough is an essential step- you want to give the dough a chance to firm up so it’s easier to roll them in the sugar.  I also must have made my cookies much smaller than Dorie intended.  Dorie says the recipe yields 24 cookies, but I got 45 and thought they seemed like perfect sized cookies.  He said that the Willliams Sonoma cookie is still better (it’s hard to beat a thick, chewy, and fully flavorful cookie), but that didn’t stop him from eating a full dozen the night I made them!  This is the perfect time of year for ginger cookies.  The smell filled the kitchen and got me very excited for Christmas baking!  You can view the recipe on Pamela’s blog and visit the TWD blog to see which November recipes everyone baked up this week!

7 Responses

  1. Nothing says success like watching someone eat a dozen of your cookies! Glad you enjoyed.

  2. I loved these! In fact I am making them again today to take with us for thanksgiving🙂

  3. The cookies were good, Im glad you liked them too. I made the crisp this week.

  4. I thought these cookies were great…I must try the William Sonoma recipe if your husband thinks that one is better! Your cookies look great!!

  5. They look great. I like them a little softer, too.
    I’ve got to go check out and try the WS version. I’m looking for just the perfect ginger cookie that someone gave me years ago and haven’t quite found it yet, though I’m enjoying the journey!😉 Happy Thanksgiving.

  6. I’m going to have to try the WS version – I have an all-time favorite, so I’m anxious to see how a new recipe measures up.

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

  7. I have this dough in my fridge right now, chilling for round two of these cookies. I loved them! I may have to try the William Sonoma recipe to see what I think of it.

Leave a Reply

