• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Cinnamon Fudge

I’ve heard about Hershey’s Cinnamon Chips for a while now, but had never seen them in grocery stores.  I was beginning to think it was just made up!  Finally, I saw some recently at Publix and picked up a bag.  I couldn’t wait to get home and make something with them.  I wanted to find a recipe that would really let the cinnamon flavor shine through.  I knew this cinnamon fudge would be perfect.  It was a pretty basic fudge recipe.  I’ve seen many fudge recipes that say to “boil for 5 minutes,” but I’m not comfortable with this instruction because it can be pretty vague.  I’ve found that the easiest way to do this is to use a candy thermometer and wait for the mixture to reach 234 degrees.  This way, I can be absolutely sure the fudge is ready.  This was the perfect fudge and it had everything I was looking for.  It was smooth and creamy and the cinnamon flavor was nicely pronounced.  It wasn’t too overpowering, but was well balanced with the sweetness from the sugar and other ingredients.  It made the perfect addition to some cinnamon ice cream, which will be posted very soon!

Cinnamon Fudge
Source: adapted from Once in a Blue Moon

3 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup butter
2/3 cup evaporated milk
10 ounces cinnamon chips
7 ounces marshmallow creme
2 teaspoons vanilla

Line a 9X13″ pan with foil then coat with cooking spray.

In a heavy bottom 3 quart sauce pan, combine sugar, butter, and milk. Bring to a rolling boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Keep stirring until the mixture reaches 234 degrees (soft ball stage) on a candy thermometer.

Remove from heat and stir in the cinnamon chips until melted. Add marshmallow creme and vanilla then beat until blended.

Carefully pour mixture into the prepared dish. Let cool to room temperature then gently lift out of the pan and place on a cutting board. Cut into squares.

5 Responses

  1. I recently found the cinnamon chips too! I was beginning to think they were just a legend. Great way to use them, this looks good!

  2. Your fudge looks great! This is the same recipe that we always use every Christmas, but I’ve never even thought of swapping out the milk chocolate chips for something else. Looks like I’ve got another recipe on the holiday list! Thanks!

  3. Oh I have never seen cinnamon chips before, I will need to keep an eye out for them! Cinnamon fudge sounds so good!

  4. Oh, I would have sent you some cinnamon chips – they are all over here!

    I love fudge (as I’ve told you before, no doubt) – this just looks so different and exciting!

  5. never even heard of cinnamon chips, but I so want them. And when I get them, definitely gonna try this recipe, but already thinking of some other uses, probably something traditional as in with apples.

Leave a Reply

