• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pumpkin Pie

DSC_2424

Thanksgiving is rapidly approaching, and I’m sure pumpkin pie is high up on the list of desserts to make.  Many people use the recipe on the can of Libby’s pumpkin, but I wanted to try something different.  This version sounded promising, so I decided to give it a try.  After reading through the recipe, I decided that it had a lot of unnecessary steps.  I’m not one to dirty more dishes that I have to, so I changed the method a little bit.  Instead of processing the ingredients in a blender, I just mixed them all by hand in the pot, and then heated them.  It worked just fine, and I didn’t have to waste the energy or time using the food processor or blender.  I did the same thing with the eggs- no need for a food processor, I just whisked them in the pot after I took it off the heat along with the milk and cream.  This way was so much simpler, and I don’t think the final product suffered one bit.  I really liked the way this was spiced.  If you don’t want a strong ginger flavor, I would recommend cutting the amount in half.  The spices went together nicely and the smell just filled the kitchen- it made me excited for the holidays to finally get here!  If you are planning on serving pumpkin pie this Thanksgiving, I would definitely recommend this version!

I didn’t use the Baking Illustrated pie crust.  Instead, I used this all butter crust found on Smitten Kitchen.  It was very easy to work with and I’m sure I’ll use it again next time I’m making pie.

DSC_2420

Pumpkin Pie
Source: adapted from Baking Illustrated

Pie crust from Smitten Kitchen– I’m just going to link to the recipe here because she has wonderful step-by-step pictures that are helpful.  The recipe yields enough for a double crust, but you only need a single crust here.  You can either make half of the recipe, or make double and freeze half for later.

Pumpkin Filling

1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin (not pie filling)

1 cup packed dark brown sugar

2 teaspoons ground ginger

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/2 teaspoon table salt

2/3 cup heavy cream

2/3 cup milk

4 large eggs

Combine pumpkin, sugar, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and salt in a large pot.  Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat until thick and shiny, about 5minutes.  Remove from heat and whisk in eggs.  Stir in milk and cream.  Pour into cooled pie crust and bake until filling is puffed and jiggles slightly when shaken, about 25 minutes.

4 Responses

  1. Love your adapted method/approach to making the pie!

  2. Gorgeous looking pie!

  3. I love love love pumpkin pie – and I do like the looks of this version. Nothing against Libby’s version, of course, but there is life beyond the can!

  4. What a great looking pie! The recipe I now use for pumpkin pie is very similar to this one. Brown sugar makes it special!

Leave a Reply

