• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Turtle Cheesecake

DSC_2407

I’ve been wanting to make this cheesecake forever, and I don’t know why I  waited so long!  The ingredients are on the pricey side, so I waited until a special occasion to try it.  My parents recently visited, and their birthdays are a few weeks apart, so we all got together to celebrate them together.  My mind immediately went to this dessert when I thought of what to make!  My family seriously loves cheesecake, so I knew this would be perfect.

DSC_2399

I used chocolate crumbs from these cookies, and omitted the flour in the cheesecake filling (I didn’t notice a difference).  I also wanted to make my own caramel.  My favorite caramel is the one from Dorie’s book that I made for the Caramel-Peanut Topped Brownie Cake.  After making the caramel, I stirred in the pecans and poured it all over the cheesecake on the top of the chocolate topping.  This was one completely fabulous dessert, and one of my favorite cheesecakes!

Turtle Cheesecake
Source: adapted from Food Network via Amber’s Delectable Delights

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups chocolate cookie crumbs (recommended: Oreo)
  • 1 cup sugar, plus 4 tablespoons
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus 3 tablespoons
  • 2 1/2 pounds cream cheese, softened to room temperature
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, plus 1 cup melted
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, for topping
  • 1 cup caramel, for topping (I made my own, recipe below)
  • 1 cup pecans, for topping

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Lightly grease the bottom and side of a 9-inch springform pan. In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine the cookie crumbs, 4 tablespoons of sugar, and the melted butter and mix together well. Pour the crumbs into the bottom of the pan and press them out evenly. Once completed, set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, the rest of the sugar, and vanilla. Beat together until light and creamy. Add the flour and blend until smooth. With the first cup of chocolate chips, fold into filling. Pour in a melted cup of the chocolate chips and sour cream and mix well. Add the eggs, 1 at a time, mixing each at low speed. Pour the filling into prepared pan, bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour, until the center is almost set. Let cake cool for 10 minutes, then run a knife around the sides and remove rim of the pan. Refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight.

In a small saucepan, melt 3 tablespoons of butter and pour in chocolate chips. Mix together on medium-low heat. Once chocolate and butter is combined, pour warm mixture onto chilled cake. Refrigerate for 10 to 15 minutes. Pour slightly cooled caramel-pecan mixture over the top.

Homemade Caramel
Source: Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

2 cups sugar
½ cup water
1 ½ tablespoons light corn syrup
2/3 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature

Put the sugar, water and corn syrup in a medium heavy bottomed saucepan, stir just to combine the ingredients and then put the pan over medium-high heat. Heat, without stirring , until the caramel turns deep amber., 5-10 minutes. Lower the heat a bit and, standing back from the saucepan add the cream and butter. When the spatters are less vehement, stir to calm down the caramel and dissolve any lumps.  Stir in pecans, cool for 3 to 5 minutes, and pour over cheesecake.

12 Responses

  1. Good to know that the Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies made a good cheesecake crust! I’ve searched for gluten-free oreos before with no luck.

  2. Well worth the price, I say!🙂

  3. What an absolutely gorgeous cheesecake! “Newman-O’s” put out by Newman’s Own is a fairly available brand of GF “oreos”, but I have to believe that those deep dark chocolate cookies are just fantastic and make an awesome crust!

  4. These look great. I, too, like Dorie’s caramel recipe.

  5. Oh that is one seriously rich looking cheesecake! Special occasions are worth the pricey ingredients – and what better occasion that your parents birthdays?

  6. This looks sinfully delicious!

  7. Yum. Turtle just may be my favorite kind of cheesecake. I made one, too–and LOVED it! I thought it was just a couple months ago, but looking back it was in June! Where does the time go?

    http://www.bakingandboys.com/2009/06/twd-rewind-from-january-29-2008-orange.html

    I’ve had a huge caramel/pecan thing lately! This one looks awesome!

  8. This looks to ba an amazing cheesecake! Thanks for sharing🙂

  9. I can’t tell you in words just how delicious that looks. YUM!!!

  10. absolutely decadent. my stars, what a treat. and good for you for going the extra mile and making your own caramel–that special touch no doubt made an amazing creation even more superior.🙂

  11. I have had this recipe starred forever! Thanks for the reminder to just make it already!

  12. […] follows) Caramel Sauce (store bought or homemade) (my favorite homemade version can be found in this post) 1 cup pecans, roughly […]

Leave a Reply

