• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pumpkin Sugar Cookies with Royal Icing

DSC_2502

I’ve seen so many people make beautiful cookies with royal icing, and I’ve been wanting to practice my skills for a long time.  I always put it off, though, saying that I wouldn’t be good at it, it would take too much time, be too frustrating, etc., but this time I made myself do it with these cookies.  It made me realize that I will get better with practice, because these were much better than my first attempt, and I know I will get better with more practice.  Here are a few tips I learned after doing this a second time:

-Plan in advance what colors and designs you want to use.  Color the icing ahead of time so it’s all out and ready when you need it.  Be sure to cover your containers, because this stuff dries quickly!

-I used a pastry bag with a #3 tip for the outlining and piping details.

-For the flooding (filling in the outlines), you want your icing to be very, very thin.  The first time I did this, I thought it was thin enough, but it wasn’t.  It should be a good pouring consistency.

-Plastic squeeze bottles are very helpful for flooding.  After thinning the icing, I used a funnel to get the icing in the bottle.

These were pretty basic designs, but since I have built my confidence in cookie decorating  a little bit more, I’m planning on experimenting more with different designs for future holidays and other occasions.

I’m going to link back to my previous post for the royal icing recipe and instructions.  I would also recommend that sugar cookie recipe.  It’s so easy to work with and it makes great sugar cookies!

9 Responses

  1. Your cookies look awesome! Such happy pumpkins!

  2. Those are really cute! I made some pumpkin cookies this year and had a hard time getting my frosting orange enough. Yours looks great.

  3. Too adorable! I wish I was more patient with decorating!

  4. OMGosh! Those are super cute jack o’ lanterns!🙂 You’ve got serious skills!

  5. Oh Erin – those are so cute! I love working with royal icing, it makes the prettiest designs.

  6. I love to eat sugar cookies but we didn’t get to baking them this halloween. Yours turned out so cute!

  7. Very cute, nice job!

  8. so cute and festive!

  9. […] Pumpkin Cookies St. Patrick’s Day Cookies […]

Leave a Reply

