• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Mongolian Beef with Broccoli

DSC_2335

I’ve been making this dish for about six months now, and it’s become one of our favorites.  I can’t believe I haven’t included it in the blog until now!  Usually when I made it we are in such a hurry to eat it that I don’t get to take a picture.  Last time I made sure I took one so I could share this delicious recipe!  I have always been a fan of Chinese food and I love finding new recipes so I can make my own at home.  David’s favorite Chinese dish is beef and broccoli, and it’s one of my favorites, and I hoped that I could recreate it at home.  This definitely met our expectations!  It was full of flavor, and the sauce was perfect.  I changed the recipe a little bit so that I could fully cook the beef at once rather than having to partially cook it, take it out of the pan, and then finish cooking it.   It was much simpler that way and didn’t dirty as many dishes. I also pan-fried the beef rather and immersing it in oil.  The broccoli was a great addition- I love broccoli in dishes like this.  The soy flavor was prominent and well balanced by the dark brown sugar.  We served this over rice and enjoyed having one of our favorite Chinese dishes at home rather than having to go out!

Mongolian Beef and Broccoli
Source: adapted from Love and Olive Oil

Ingredients
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1 tablespoon garlic, chopped
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup water
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
vegetable oil, for frying
1 lb flank steak
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 medium yellow onion, thinly sliced
2 large green onions
1 cup broccoli, microwaved for 2 minutes

Directions
Make the sauce by heating 2 teaspoons of vegetable oil in a medium saucepan over med/low heat. Add ginger and garlic to the pan and quickly add the soy sauce and water before the garlic scorches. Dissolve the brown sugar in the sauce, then raise the heat to about medium and boil the sauce for 2-3 minutes or until the sauce thickens. Remove it from the heat.

Slice the flank steak against the grain into 1/4″ thick bite-size slices. Tilt the blade of your knife at about a forty five degree angle to the top of the steak so that you get wider cuts. Dip the steak pieces into the cornstarch to apply a very thin dusting to both sides of each piece of beef. Let the beef sit for about 10 minutes so that the cornstarch sticks.

Heat oil in a wok or large skillet until it’s nice and hot, but not smoking. Add the beef to the oil and fry until browned.  Stir the meat around a little so that it cooks evenly. Add onions and sauté for 2-3 minutes, then add garlic and cook until fragrant.  Add sauce and cook until thickened to almost desired consistency. Add partially steamed broccoli and cook until heated through.  Serve over rice.

Ingredients
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon ginger, minced
1 tablespoon garlic, chopped
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup water
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
vegetable oil, for frying
1 lb flank steak
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 medium yellow onion, thinly sliced
2 large green onions
1 cup broccoli, microwaved for 2 minutes

Directions
Make the sauce by heating 2 teaspoons of vegetable oil in a medium saucepan over med/low heat. Add ginger and garlic to the pan and quickly add the soy sauce and water before the garlic scorches. Dissolve the brown sugar in the sauce, then raise the heat to about medium and boil the sauce for 2-3 minutes or until the sauce thickens. Remove it from the heat.

Slice the flank steak against the grain into 1/4″ thick bite-size slices. Tilt the blade of your knife at about a forty five degree angle to the top of the steak so that you get wider cuts. Dip the steak pieces into the cornstarch to apply a very thin dusting to both sides of each piece of beef. Let the beef sit for about 10 minutes so that the cornstarch sticks.

Heat oil in a wok or large skillet until it’s nice and hot, but not smoking. Add the beef to the oil and fry until browned.  Stir the meat around a little so that it cooks evenly. Add onions and sauté for 2-3 minutes, then add garlic and cook until fragrant.  Add sauce and cook until thickened to almost desired consistency. Add partially steamed broccoli and cook until heated through.  Serve over rice.

9 Responses

  1. I made that recipe 2 weeks ago – and there was a fight for the leftovers! I didn’t even get a picture so you are further ahead than I was. It was great and I’ll have to make it again just to try and get a picture.

  2. That looks like a hearty and filling way to take care of a take-out craving!

  3. That sounds so perfect! My husband will thank you, especially, for this recipe :-)!

  4. That looks awesome!

  5. This looks so much better than take out and I’m sure it’s healthier too – yum!

  6. I made this tonight. So yummy. The kids loved it. I have to double it next time.

  7. Made this tonight for me & my husband and it was a hit! Thank you!!

  8. […] Adapted from Love and Olive Oil/Dinner and Dessert […]

  9. It was delicious, and I can’t wait to make it again.🙂 Thanks for posting it!🙂

Leave a Reply

