• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pumpkin Pie Bars

DSC_2358

I’ve been all about pumpkin lately, and I was so excited to see this recipe.  It’s a lot like pumpkin pie, but in bar form.  It starts off with an oat-flour crust, which is pre-baked before you add the filling.  The filling is very similar to a filling that you would use for pumpkin pie, but it does have cream cheese for a creamier filling.  The spice mix flavored the pumpkin perfectly and gave it just the right amount of sweetness.  This is a great fall treat to enjoy when you want something pumpkin flavored but don’t want to go through the trouble of making a pie.  It’s also a great treat to serve for guests because you can just pick it up and it’s less messy- but that can be dangerous :)  The recipe said that you can use either butterscotch or chocolate chips, and I used butterscotch because I like how it tastes with pumpkin.  I think that white chocolate chips would be good to and that you could use any of the three or a combination and these would be delicious.

Pumpkin Pie Bars
Source: Joy the Baker, who adapted them from Kraft

1-1/3 cups flour

3/4 cup  granulated sugar, divided

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

3/4 cup  (1-1/2 sticks) cold butter or margarine

1 cup old-fashioned or quick-cooking oats, uncooked

1/2 cup  chopped walnuts

1 pkg. (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened

3   eggs

1 can (15 oz.) pumpkin

1 Tbsp.  pumpkin pie spice

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 teaspoons bourbon (optional)

a handful of butterscotch or chocolate chips for sprinkling on top (optional)

HEAT oven to 350°F. Line 13×9-inch pan with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides; grease foil. Mix flour, 1/4 granulated sugar and brown sugar in medium bowl; cut in butter with pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in oats and nuts.

RESERVE 1 cup oat mixture; press remaining onto bottom of prepared pan. Bake 15 min. Beat cream cheese, remaining sugar, eggs, vanilla, bourbon, pumpkin and spice with mixer until well blended. Pour over crust; sprinkle with reserved crumb mixture and a handful of butterscotch or chocolate chips (if desired).

BAKE 25 min.; cool 10 min. Use foil to transfer dessert from pan to wire rack; cool completely.

Can’t find pumpkin pie spice? Simply mix 1 tsp. each ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg and allspice, then use as directed.

10 Responses

  1. Stellar, festive bars!

  2. WOW those look great!! I love the toppings and they look and sound sooooooo delectable!

  3. Yahoooo! Bring on the pumpkin – I made pumpkin pie pudding last night – it was soo good. But I’ll need to start hoarding my canned pumpkin supply – so far I haven’t seen any in the stores.

  4. These look great! I have a ton of pumpkin that I need to use up and these look perfect!

  5. Triple yum! Oats, pumpkin, butterscotch!

  6. Yum. I really want to make these bars. I’ve seen them on several blogs and they look so delicious.

  7. I am loving pumpkin right now! Always reminds me of fall (my favorite season!).
    These bars look wonderful!

  8. These look amazing! I definitely starred them and hope to make them soon!

  9. These look so good! I love pumpkin too, but sometimes I don’t like the consistency of pumpkin pie, so I’m really excited to try these🙂. I actually work with Del Monte, and if you’re looking for other dessert ideas, we have these fruit chillers out that make for some great frozen treats. They come in different flavors and if you’re interested in some recipes like homemade frozen yogurt, you can check out our site at http://bit.ly/6IHrg

    Enjoy, and thanks for sharing the pumpkin bars!

  10. […] Pie Bars Source: Dinner & Dessert, who took them from Joy the Baker, who adapted them from […]

Leave a Reply

