• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

S’Mores Cheesecake

DSC_2288

For someone who once claimed to not like cheesecake much, I certainly have turned around.  I’m still not a huge fan of plain cheesecake (I don’t like the strong cream cheese flavor), but I am discovering just how many fancy versions of cheesecake are out there, and now I want to try them all!  I have been all about marshmallow desserts lately, and I love s’mores, and really wanted to try this as soon as I saw it.  I was intrigued by the peanut crust.  I have really enjoyed adapting crusts to be gluten-free, and I thought this one sounded like it could be really good.

The crust ended up being quite delicious!  I will use this crust again in cheesecakes for sure.  It was perfect in this cheesecake.  Since there are only two sticks of cream cheese, it isn’t a tall cheesecake, but it certainly is rich.  The filling has a deep chocolate flavor, and the marshmallow topping also adds to the height and sugary goodness.  I would definitely say that this satisfied the s’mores craving I had been having, and I found a new crust recipe as well!

DSC_2280

S’Mores Cheesecake
Source: Simply Gluten Free

Crust:
1 ¼ cups dry-roasted, salted peanuts
½ cup dark brown sugar
¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
¼ cup unsalted butter, melted

Filling:
9 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 8 ounce packages cream cheese, room temperature
¾ cup granulated sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
¾ cup heavy whipping cream
3 large eggs

Topping:
3 egg whites
Pinch of salt
1 7 ounce jar Kraft marshmallow cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

For Crust – Pulse peanuts, brown sugar and cinnamon in a small food processor until it is the texture of coarse sand. Pulse in the melted butter. Press nut mixture evenly in the bottom of a 9 inch springform pan. Bake until set, about 15 minutes and cool while making the filling.

For filling – Melt chocolate in the microwave ( stir every 30 seconds until fully melted and smooth, about 2 minutes) or in the top of a double boiler set over barely simmering water stirring until melted and smooth.

Combine cream cheese, sugar and salt in a food processor and process until smooth. With the motor running, pour in the whipping cream through the feed tube and process until just blended. With motor still running add the melted chocolate and the eggs, one at a time, blending and scraping down the sides after each addition until smooth and well blended. Pour over prepared crust.

Bake until the outer edge is slightly puffed up and the cake is just barely set in the center, about 55 minutes. Put pan on a rack to cool. Run a small knife around the edges of the cake to loosen. Chill cake, uncovered, for at least 8 hours or overnight. Can be made 2 days ahead.

For topping – Beat egg whites and salt until soft peaks form. Add the marshmallow crème and beat until stiff peaks form.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spread topping over cheesecake, sealing the edges and bake 15 minutes or until lightly browned. You can also quick cook under the broiler if desired – just watch it and cook only until lightly browned.

Let cool for about 15 minutes then release from springform pan and serve.

Serves 10.

10 Responses

  1. WOW! That sounds really really really delicious!

  2. This looks so fun to make, my boyfriend has been harassing me to make a cheesecake, this might have to be it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  3. Yum! That looks fabulous! I love s’mores so much!! I am starring this to make soon.

  4. This looks very yummy! I have never heard of Smores cheesecake, but I sure like it!

  5. What a great idea for cheesecake! It looks great.

  6. Since you are just starting to enter the cheesecake loving realm, have I got a recipe for you. Cappucino chocolate cheesecake. mmmmmmm

    Although this one looks PDP – pretty darn perfect – and will definitely go on my list.

  7. This looks FABulous! I am still afraid to make cheesecake but I may have to start with this one!

  8. Wow, this looks great! What a tasty combo.

  9. YUM! This looks awesome.
    ~www.joyofcooking.wordpress.com

  10. […] for many recipes before settling on this one.  I changed the crust, using the crust from this s’mores cheesecake recipe instead, and used Dorie’s chocolate ganache for the topping, but kept the filling from the […]

Leave a Reply

