• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Apple Spice Bars

DSC_2248

I love baking with apples, especially in the fall.  As much as I love chocolate, apples and pumpkin come in a pretty close second.  I made these delicious bars last year after a football game when we had people over to hang out (unfortunately we lost that game), so I will forever associate these bars with football, slightly cooler weather, and fall.  Last time I made them, I even made some caramel sauce to pour over the bars.  Apples and caramel is one of my favorite combinations.  These bars had a caramel taste to them and were perfectly sweet with the slight crunch of the apples to create a great texture.  These are also good keepers, as they stay soft and moist for several days (not that they will last that long!).

Apple Spice Bars
Source: Good Things Catered

Ingredients:
2 c. plus 2 Tbsp all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp allspice
small pinch ground cloves
1/2 c. butter, melted
1 c. packed brown sugar
1 c. white sugar
2 eggs
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
2 apples, cored and diced (a little less than 2 c.)
cinnamon sugar for sprinkling

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 9×13 pan with foil and baking spray.
-In medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and cloves.
-Whisk to combine well and set aside.
-In bowl of stand mixer, combine sugars and butter and beat on medium high until light and fluffy, about 1 minute.
-Add eggs, one at a time, beating well to combine.
-Add vanilla extract and beat to combine.
-Turn mixer on slow and fold in flour mixture a little at a time until just combined.
-Fold in apples.
-Spread mixture evenly into prepared pan and sprinkle top generously with cinnamon sugar.
-Place in oven and bake until cooked through, when top slightly bounces back to the touch, about 30 minutes.
-Remove from oven and let cool completely before removing from pan, cutting and serving. (bars will be very soft)

7 Responses

  1. I made these last year. They are delicous!

  2. Mmm- I can’t wait for cooler weather either – pumpkin bars are first on my list.

    And the temperature is slowly starting to fall…….

  3. Oh yay! So glad you like them and I LOVE the idea of caramel. mmmmm

  4. I’m SO happy it’s finally fall…I’ve been baking a bunch of stuff with apples and I’m definitely going to put these on my list! Since I’m now totally addicted to caramel sauce, I’m definitely going to make some to go with these

  5. I can’t wait to go apple picking and make all of these delicious apple recipes I am seeing! These are going on my list for sure!

  6. Those look great! The only apple spice bars I’ve ever made were Dorie’s, and they were more like cake. Yours look more firm, almost like a brownie texture. I’m gonna have to try these!

  7. Yum! These scream Fall, which I love. And I do love me some apple spice!

Leave a Reply

