• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Apple Turnovers (TWD)

DSC_2268

I’ve always liked apple turnovers, but I’ve never made them.  It’s hard to beat a warm apple dessert, so I was hoping these would be really good.  The dough was pretty easy to make and work with.  It was very similar to the Strawberry Hand Pies I made over the summer.  Once you chill the dough, you just roll it out and cut it into circles before you fill it and fold them up.  I tried to use biscuit cutters, but they were too small, so I just used my 4.5-inch springform pan as a guide, and it was the perfect size.  The filling was delicious!  I added a little bit of brown sugar to it to make it a little sweeter and to deepen the apple flavor.  I also added more cinnamon than the recipe called for, because the combination of apples and cinnamon is so incredible.  I forgot to add the egg wash, so these aren’t as dark as they should be, and don’t look very pretty.  David enjoyed snacking on them, but said that they weren’t as good as the Apple Strudel I made in May.

Julie chose this recipe, and you can view it on her blog.  You can also check out the TWD blog to see everyone else’s thoughts.

10 Responses

  1. No worries! They still look great to me; and hey, it’s the filling that’s the most tantalizing anyways, right??😉

  2. Those look delicious! Great job on these, too!

  3. Your turnovers came out beautifully and thanks for mentioning your strudel… I hope to give that a try this fall!

  4. Never made turnovers?!? I’m so glad you finally did – aren’t they wonderful little pockets of awesome? Yours look delicious!

  5. Your turnovers look terrific! I love apple desserts but this one was a bit of a disappointment for me. A bit bland and the dough gave me all sorts of trouble. So many people enjoyed them though that I think I need to give them another shot!

  6. Those look just delicious! Thanks for baking with me!

  7. Great job. I made them with cherries and banana/chocolate chip. I actually thought they could use a light glaze to sweeten them up a bit.

  8. Wow they look really good! I enjoyed this recipe and will make it again….

  9. Hand pies are so fun to make and so easy to eat.

    Yours look really good.

  10. […] Apple Dessert Risotto, Janet is Hungry Almond Semifreddo with Caramelized Apples, Yum Sugar Apple Turnovers, Dinner and […]

Leave a Reply

