• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Warm Butternut Squash and Chickpea Salad

DSC_2199

I am lucky that my husband doesn’t have to travel for work, so he is almost never away.  This is great, but sometimes I like to be on my own for dinner so I can cook what I want and not have to feel guilty about it.  One evening, he went to a football game with a friend (and the Clemson Tigers won!), so I used it as a chance to fix something he wouldn’t want to eat.  I’ve had this recipe bookmarked for a long time, and I couldn’t wait to try it, especially with fall approaching.  I haven’t eaten butternut squash that many times, but I just love it and couldn’t wait to try cooking it a different way.  The last time I had butternut squash was when I made this roasted version, which you should check out🙂

This was a very simple recipe , but was very full of flavor.  You start off by roasting the squash until it is soft.  While it is roasting, you make the dressing, which is a mix of tahini, lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, and water.  Once the squash cools down a little bit, you mix it with the dressing and the chickpeas, and a little bit of parsley.  The squash and chickpeas pair together nicely, and the garlic really brings them out.  The tahini gave it a slightly nutty flavor, and was delicious with the lemon juice.  I skipped the red onions because I’ve never card for them.  I was definitely pleased with the outcome of this.  It was just what I was looking for!

Warm Butternut Squash and Chickpea Salad
Source: Smitten Kitchen (you can see the string of sources in her post)

Yield: 4 servings

For salad:
1 medium butternut squash (about 2 to 2 1/2 pounds), peeled, seeded, and cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces
1 medium garlic clove, minced or pressed
1/2 teaspoons ground allspice (I skip this)
2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt
One 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed (1 1/2 cups)
1/4 of a medium red onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh cilantro or parsley

For tahini dressing:
1 medium garlic clove, finely minced with a pinch of salt
1/4 cup lemon juice
3 tablespoons well-stirred tahini
2 tablespoons water
2 tablespoons olive oil, plus more to taste

Preheat the oven to 425°F.

In a large bowl, combine the butternut squash, garlic, allspice, olive oil, and a few pinches of salt. Toss the squash pieces until evenly coated. Roast them on a baking sheet for 25 minutes, or until soft. Remove from the oven and cool.

Meanwhile, make the tahini dressing: In a small bowl, whisk together the garlic and lemon juice. Add the tahini, and whisk to blend. Add the water and olive oil, whisk well, and taste for seasoning. The sauce should have plenty of nutty tahini flavor, but also a little kick of lemon. You will probably need to add more water to thin it out.

To assemble the salad, combine the squash, chickpeas, onion, and cilantro or parsley in a mixing bowl. Either add the tahini dressing to taste, and toss carefully, or you could serve the salad with the dressing on the side. Serve immediately.

11 Responses

  1. This looks right up my alley. Perfect for a light fall supper.

  2. I know exactly what you mean about cooking what you want without feeling guilty! Glad you got the chance to make this salad. It looks really delicious!

  3. That’s so funny – my husbands’ been away all week, and I’ve totally enjoyed myself making all the things he doesn’t like. And believe me, there aren’t too many. But let’s just say that eggplant tops the list – so that was something I ate the most of!

  4. This is one of my favorite salads EVER…it’s just so perfect for fall!

  5. Looks tasty, and SO pretty!

  6. So funny – I posted about this a while ago with the same idea – I made it on a night my husband was out because I didn’t think he’d like it. He tried leftovers and really liked it, though! It’s so delicious.

  7. This is my kind of dinner too, it looks so delicious! I just got butternut squash today, I couldn’t resist any longer🙂

  8. You sound just like me. When my hubby is out of town, I make things he wouldn’t want to eat. This looks fabulous and so creative. Love it!

  9. Let me just tell you that I laughed out loud when I read your entry. Sometimes I feel like being on my own so I can make something I like, although, I have come to the point that I introduce something I like once a week, to taste test it my husband. So far so good. He likes eggplant! Nice pic by the way. i am glad I ran into your blog.

  10. Yum! Totally the same here-the mouse will play (in the kitchen) when the cat’s away!

  11. haha I make things Joey won’t like when he’s gone too. I have been eyeing this recipe for quite some time; I can’t wait to try it out. So pretty!

Leave a Reply

