• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Blueberry Frozen Yogurt

DSC_1881

David’s grandparents have an amazing garden, and my favorite part is the blueberry bushes.  Last year when we visited them, we picked a ton of blueberries on night and I used some of them in this blueberry pie.  We won’t be able to visit this year at their house, but we did see them recently, and they gave us some blueberries from this year.  I love blueberries, and I couldn’t wait to make something with them.  Since I made the pie last year, I wanted to make a frozen dessert this time.  I thought about ice cream, but settled on frozen yogurt since I’ve never made it before.

A few months ago, Stonyfield Farms left a comment on my blog asking me for my address so they could send me some coupons.  They didn’t say that I had to mention them on my blog, but since they were so nice about sending them, I thought I would say something.  I used plain organic yogurt, which was great on its own, but was wonderful in this dessert.  I feel good about using their products because of the health and environmentally friendly way they are produced.  Anyway, this frozen yogurt was fantastic.  The blueberry flavor was very prominent, and the yogurt balanced it so that it wasn’t too sweet.  I was surprised at the addition of kirsch.  It added a just the touch to make this dessert really stand out in flavor.  Next time I might add a little bit more because this froze really hard and the extra alcohol might help it soften it a little bit.

Blueberry Frozen Yogurt
Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

1 ½ cups plain whole-milk yogurt

¾ cup sugar

3 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen

1 teaspoon kirsch

2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

In a blender or food processor, blend together the yogurt, sugar, and blueberries.  Press the mixture through a strainer to remove the seeds.  Stir in the kirsch and lemon juice.  Chill for 1 hour.

Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

3 Responses

  1. SOOOO lucky to have blueberry bushes!! None here – but thank goodness for farmers markets🙂

    That frozen yogurt is a fabulous “end of summer” treat!!

  2. YUM! I recently made blackberry frozen yogurt, but I love blueberries too. And awesome that you scored some free yogurt!!

  3. The color of this yogurt looks so luscious! What a great way to use blueberries!

Leave a Reply

