• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Cashew Chicken

DSC_2015

I have gotten into making my own Chinese food at home.  I’ve successfully made Mongolian Beef and Broccoli and Sweet and Sour Chicken (both of these need to be made again so I can photograph them and include them in this blog), and when I saw this one, I knew it would be a good recipe to try.  I’ve never actually had this before.  Come to think of it, I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen it on the menu at a Chinese restaurant.  Anyway, this was really delicious and we both really liked it.  It was easy to make and was quick as well, making it a good weeknight meal.  You could pull this together in about 30-45 minutes because you can make the sauce while the chicken marinates.

This was such a great dinner!  I really liked the sauce.  In Amber’s original post, she said that she would double the sauce next time.  Even though I used just enough chicken for the two of us, I still doubled the sauce because I like to have a lot :)  I also got the idea of adding a little bit of honey to the sauce, which was a great addition.  It added just a little bit of sweetness to the sauce.  I intended to serve this with broccoli, but I forgot to pick it up at the grocery store.  Luckily, I had some peas and carrots in the freezer, so I used that instead.  I think broccoli, peas, and carrots, would all go great together in this.  I would definitely include a vegetable, though, because it really adds flavor.  I can’t wait to make this again, and hopefully soon I’ll have some more Chinese/Asian dishes to share with you.

Cashew Chicken
Adapted from Williams Sonoma, as seen on Amber’s Delectable Delights

3 Tbs. soy sauce

1 Tbs. rice wine or dry sherry

2 tsp. grated fresh ginger

1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into
bite-size pieces

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp. Asian sesame oil

1/2 tsp. sugar

1/4 tsp. cornstarch

3 Tbs. corn or peanut oil

1-2 tablespoons honey

2 green onions, chopped

1 cup salted roasted cashews

Steamed rice for serving

Directions:

Marinate the chicken
In a large bowl, stir together 2 Tbs. of the soy sauce, the wine and ginger. Stir in the chicken to coat evenly and set aside for 15 minutes.

Make the sauce
In a small bowl, combine 2 Tbs. water, the remaining 1 Tbs. soy sauce, the Worcestershire sauce, sesame oil, sugar and cornstarch, and stir to dissolve the sugar and cornstarch.

Stir-fry the chicken
Heat a wok or large fry pan over high heat until very hot and add 2 Tbs. of the corn oil. Remove the chicken from the marinade, draining it well, and discard the marinade. Add the chicken to the wok and stir-fry until opaque, about 3 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the chicken to a bowl.

Return the wok to medium heat and add the remaining 1 Tbs. corn oil. Add the green onions and stir-fry until fragrant, about 10 seconds. Return the chicken to the wok and add the cashews.

10 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness!!! My mom used to make an amazing cashew chicken when I was a kid, and then I remember asking her to make it when I got older, and she said, I don’t have the recipe anymore…

    one of my favorites!!! thank you for posting… this sounds fab!!!

  2. Yum! I love how cashews adds a nice flavor and texture to this!

  3. I totally suck at making Chinese food at home – so maybe I should stick to recipes that actually work – like this one!

    Please share the Mongolian Beef and Sweet/Sour Chicken recipes, because those are my family’s favorites!

  4. This is a must try for me, looks great! I always order cashew chicken when we go out for Chinese!

  5. I’m too hungry to read more! I’ll be back after a snack!

  6. I have to try this soon!!! Thanks for posting!

  7. This looks so perfect for a quick weeknight meal, I love cashew chicken!

  8. mmm Cashew chicken is always my go-to dish at chinese places. I will definitely be trying this soon!

  9. […] from Dinner & Dessert (originally from William-Sonoma/Amber’s Delectable […]

  10. Thanks for posting…I doubled the sauce too!

Leave a Reply

