• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Peach Ice Cream

DSC_2063

Recently, Carrie of Carrie’s Kitchen Creations asked me and a few other bloggers to do some guest blogging so she can focus attention on her new baby while making sure that her blog is not neglected.  I was extremely flattered that she asked me, and I of course agreed!  You can view this post on her blog as well.

It seems like whenever the subject of homemade ice cream comes up, people almost always talk about peach ice cream first.  It’s such a classic flavor, and perfect for summer.  I love peaches, and would probably say they are my favorite fruit.  I have never made peach ice cream, but since I have gotten into making homemade ice cream this year, I wanted to find a good version.  I have had this version bookmarked since last summer, and couldn’t wait until peaches were in their prime so I could try it.  I recently made Honey Peach Ice Cream, and it was okay, but definitely not the classic peach ice cream I was looking for.

This ice cream sure delivered!  It was perfect.  Just perfect!  What stood out to me in this recipe was that it included brown sugar.  This added a perfect amount of sweetness to the ice cream and brought out the flavor.  I also liked letting the peaches sit in turbinado sugar because I think it mixed with the peaches better than regular sugar.   One thing I did differently was that I blended all the peaches for the ice cream instead of just half.  I didn’t like the big chunks of frozen peaches in the Honey Peach Ice Cream, so I wanted this to be different.  I blended it so that it wasn’t a puree, but still had smaller bits of peaches.  This was perfect because you get tiny bits of peaches in every bite, but they blend into the ice cream.  This recipe makes quite a bit of ice cream.  I have one of those ice cream makers that doesn’t require pre-freezing, so I was able to freeze it all in one night, but you might want to consider halving the recipe if you don’t want to freeze this in two batches.  This was the absolute best peach ice cream.  I’m so glad I found it!

Peach Ice Cream
Source: adapted slightly from Sass & Veracity

6 large peaches which have been forgotten for days, unpeeled, seeded, and chopped in 1/2-inch chunks
1/2 c. turbinado
3/4 c. cup brown sugar, firmly packed
juice of 1/2 fresh orange
1-1/2 c. whole milk
3  eggs, beaten
1-1/2 c. heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla

Put chopped peaches into a large bowl and add 1/2 cup turbinado and orange juice to macerate.  Cover with plastic wrap and set in the fridge.

In a medium saucepan combine the milk, eggs, and brown sugar. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon, about 15 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in the heavy cream and vanilla. Pour into a bowl (metal,if possible) through a fine meshed strainer. Chill by either setting in an ice bath, or the fridge, stirring occasionally. Chill completely.

When chilled, place the peaches and their juice in a blender and puree.  Pour puree into the chilled custard.

Pour 1/2 of the peach mixture into a 1-1/2 qt. bowl of an ice cream maker and process according to manufacturer’s directions. Return the remaining peach mixture to the fridge.  When the first batch is done, scrape it into a 3 qt. covered freezer container and place in the freezer until the second batch is finished.  Combine batches.

9 Responses

  1. My mom’s favorite!! Sharing the recipe with her now🙂

  2. Thanks again Erin!

  3. Oh my I have to try this, it looks delicious!

  4. I really need to find my ice cream maker! I’ve seen too many delicious looking homemade ice cream recipes and I’m feeling really left out (and hungry!)

  5. Mmm looks great! I love peaches!

  6. This looks amazing, thanks so much for posting…the pick is making me very hungry!

  7. really quick question: does this recipe use 3 whole eggs or 3 yolks?

Leave a Reply

