• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Salted Caramel Cupcakes

DSC_1973

Recently, Betty of How To Eat A Cupcake asked me if I’d be interested in a baking group for Martha Stewart’s new cupcake book.  Since I already had the book, I knew I would be making plenty of cupcake from it, and it is a monthly baking group, so I felt comfortable taking this on.  The first cupcake chosen was a Salted Caramel Cupcake, which is one I was hoping to make soon anyway.  I love chocolate, and caramel is close behind, so the two together is pretty much hard to beat.  The cupcake portion of this recipe is very simple and straightforward.  They had a strong chocolate flavor, and would be great on their own.  After letting the cupcakes cool, you cut the center out to make room for the caramel.  After making several filled cupcakes, I’ve found that a grapefruit knife is helpful for this task, so if you have one, you will be pleased to know that it has more than one use!

DSC_1976

The caramel comes next.  I love caramel, and was happy that this made a little bit more than I needed :)  It was made using the wet method, which means that you heat sugar and water until it reaches the caramel stage.  You need to be fairly quick when you fill the cupcake centers with the caramel, because it will harden.  Next, you make the cupcakes and frost them with a delicious, rich, chocolate frosting.  It doesn’t get much better!  I really liked these cupcakes, although I thought the caramel flavor would come through a bit more.  It did make for a moist, gooey center.  The recipe calls for making mini cupcakes, but I decided to make mine regular size.  I halved the recipe and got 8 cupcakes, which was perfect for the size crowd I served them to.  I am looking forward to making more wonderful cupcakes in the upcoming months!

Salted Caramel Cupcakes
Source: Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes

15 Responses

  1. Great pictures! Your cupcakes look awesome. I liked these too though I was bummed my caramel didn’t stay soft in the center of the cupcakes – it got a bit hard, which made eating them tricky.

  2. Oh, these look pretty!

  3. Your cupcakes look great! I have to make caramel some more. Ive only made it a few times and its not one of things I like to make.

  4. Sounds soooo good! Is the recipe posted somewhere or a y’all just teasing us?!

  5. Those are some pretty cupcakes. I really liked them although I made them bite size/mini’s. Just fewer calories…..eat more…..he he.
    AmyRuth

  6. Awesome group! I have that book too, and I can’t wait to make more of the recipes. And salted caramel is one of my faaaaavorite flavors!

  7. Wow your colors look amazing. That rich dark cupcake color with the decadent frosting.. yum! Great job=)

  8. Wow…. they LOOK fantastic – those swirls are truly professional! I finally am able to make caramel successfully, and LOVE it – it’s now so easy, and not so frightening! I added a few drops of caramel oil to the mixture, but agree, it could have been more pronounce in the cake! Awesome job this month!!!

  9. Erin, yours look perfect! The dark chocolate frosting looks to-die-for.

    I wish the caramel stuck out more as well. Hmm, I am thinking of experimenting further with this recipe since I do like the chocolate/caramel combo.

    Soooooo happy that you baked along with me this month!

    Looking forward to following you on your future cupcake adventures! Whoo hoo!

  10. This looks so good! Chocolate cuppies with a caramel center! I love it!! I have this book too, I’m making these!

  11. sounds great, I love when sweets are accented with the right amount of salt!

  12. Your cupcakes look de-lish!

  13. Oh my, salted caramel anything is sooo good. These look yummy!

  14. This caramel was amazing!!! Your cupcakes look amazing!

  15. regards mj

Leave a Reply

