• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Peach Cobbler

DSC_1904

Besides sorbet, Peach Cobbler is one of the fruit desserts that I truly enjoy.  On a recent vacation, I stopped at a roadside stand to pick up some peaches and couldn’t wait to get home and use them.  I made peach ice cream and this cobbler, and I wish I had gotten more.  My mother-in-law is crazy about peaches, and always makes peach cobbler for everyone at the beach.  She doesn’t bake much, but we always look forward to this cobbler.  I don’t know where she got the recipe, but I’m sure it was from a church cookbook or a newspaper clipping.  You’ll find a similar recipe in most southern kitchens!

I’ve been looking forward to making this cobbler since the last cobbler I made was no good.  That recipe caused a lot of controversy within the TWD group.  Some liked it, but the southern TWD ladies were horrified at the idea of a biscuit topping!  Biscuit topping=not true peach cobbler.  Southern peach cobblers are incredibly simple to make.  You melt some butter in the pan first, then you mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and milk and pour it on top, then spoon the peaches on top of that.  During baking, the batter will rise to the top and mix with the peaches.  I have always liked more dough, but if you want more fruit, simply increase the peaches.  This is a simple but traditional summer dessert that you don’t want to miss!

Peach Cobbler
Source: my mother-in-law

3 to 4 cups sliced fresh peaches

2 cups sugar

1 stick butter

¾ cup flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

¾ cup milk

Mix peaches with 1 cup sugar and let stand until juices are formed.  Put butter in a 2-quart casserole dish (a 9×13-inch dish works just fine) in a 325-degree oven to melt.  Combine remaining sugar, flour, baking powder, salt, and milk; pour over melted butter.  Do not stir; spoon peaches on top of batter.  Do not stir.  Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour.

10 Responses

  1. have seen so many wonderful peach recipes lately, including this one, I really wish I like peaches!

  2. I love cobbler, this one sounds delicious!

  3. my favorite!

  4. What an interesting idea – putting the batter in first, then the fruit. Do you think this would work well with any other fruit? I’ve got a ton of fruit stashed in my freezer.

    • It would definitely work with any fruit! I actually like blueberry cobbler better, and I think it would be good with cherries and plums.

  5. What a wonderful recipe for cobbler. I usually just use pie crust, but I can tell from the picture this would be delicious! I know my hubby would love this–thank you for sharing a family treasure.

  6. This is the first cobbler I have ever made, and it was so easy and wonderful! I wonder what other fruit I can make it with!

  7. […] been really good this year, and I couldn’t wait to use them in a dessert other than the usual peach cobbler or peach […]

  8. […] adapted from Dinner & Dessert and Vintage […]

  9. Couldn’t find my familes recipe so I tried this one…AMAZING I did cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup with the fruit, and will probably lower it to 1/3 cup next time. If you use a tart fruit then the full amount of sugar would be needed. It came out perfect with the top a little brown and the edges all crispy from the butter! HEAVAN IN A PAN

Leave a Reply

