• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream (TWD)

DSC_1918

We’re making another ice cream this week, and this time it’s vanilla.  I’m definitely a chocolate ice cream lover, so of course I had to find some way to spice this up.  I decided to add chocolate chip cookie dough to the batter.  It’s one of my favorite ice cream flavors, but I’ve never made it before, so I decided this would be the perfect time.

I had some doubts about this ice cream, since I’ve already found a great ice cream that I love.  The recipes are very similar, but David Lebovitz’s calls for a higher ratio of heavy cream, so the texture is creamier.  This ice cream was still great, though, and was a great base for the cookie dough add-in.  The recipe for the cookie dough is below, and you can view the vanilla ice cream recipe on Lynne’s site, who chose it for TWD this week.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

5 tablespoons salted butter, melted (I used unsalted and added a little bit of salt)

1/3 cup packed light brown sugar

¼ cup flour

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

½ cup walnuts, pecans, or hazelnuts, toasted and coarsely chopped (I omitted)

¾ cup semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, stir together the butter and sugar until smooth.  Stir in the flour, then the vanilla, nuts, and chocolate chips.

Form the dough into a disk about ½ inch thick, wrap it in plastic wrap, and refrigerate until firm.  Once chilled, unwrap the disk and chop the dough into bite-sized pieces, then store in the refrigerator until ready to mix in.

14 Responses

  1. Ooo yum! Your ice cream looks so tasty!

  2. Seriously, I need to stop looking at these MESMERIZING DELICIOUS pictures or else I will never get anything done.

    This is the most appealing ice cream EVER! My favorite so far!

    LOVE IT.

  3. AHH!!! Love that classic flavor🙂

  4. Thanks for posting the cookie dough recipe! What a great addition.

  5. I KNEW you would post something other than “just vanilla”!!

    I want to know, did you have any trouble with the cookie dough? Because I didn’t, but Katrina (from Baking and Boys) had a terrible mess on her hands.

    But judging from the photo, it looks like you had complete success! And honestly, I think I like DL’s version better (oh shoot, I shouldn’t have said that out loud).

  6. Wowzas. That looks awesome!

  7. yum! that sounds like heaven

  8. Cookie dough ice cream is one of my favorites! I’ve never used Lebovitz’s cookie dough mix-in recipe, so I’m glad it worked so well for you.

  9. I’m a diehard DL vanilla fan (the more heavy cream the better), but I was really happy with the results of this recipe. I’m with you though, as DL will remain our go-to vanilla ice cream.

    Fantastic job!

  10. THAT is what I’m talkin’ about! Cookie Dough is my favorite ice cream, too. Looks well studded with chunks of dough!

  11. Oh, cookie dough would have been great. I’ve seen that recipe in Perfect Scoop but never tried. I guess I’d better!

  12. Your ice cream looks awesome! I LOVE David’s recipe for those cookie dough mix-ins. Wish I’d thought to add it this week!

  13. Great addition to the vanilla ice cream! Thanks for making Dorie’s recipe with me.

Leave a Reply

